Skip to main content
Selected Reference Resources on Africa
Reference Guide to Africa, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online
Publication Date: 2014
"This third edition of the Reference Guide to Africa explains the most important resources for the study of the continent of Africa. It contains a general sources section and a larger disciplinary oriented section. All sources are annotated. The book provides an orientation for researching almost any topic in the arts, humanities and social sciences concerning the continent of Africa, and all of its countries and ethnic groups. It includes 16 subject-oriented chapters, mostly in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from agriculture and food security to women studies."
Africa: A Guide to Reference Material by
Call Number: REF DT3 .M34 2007 (2nd floor)
"This is a new revised and substantially expanded edition of a highly acclaimed reference resource that evaluates the leading sources of information (other than bibliographies) on Africa South of the Sahara."
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African & African American Experience by
Call Number: REF DT14 .A3743 2005, volumes 1-5 (2nd floor)
The African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources. by
Call Number: REF DT19.8 .Z45 2006 (2nd floor)
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora. by
Call Number: REF DT16.5 .E53 2008, volumes 1-3 (2nd floor)
"The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries."
Encyclopedia of African History. by
Call Number: REF DT20 .E53 2005, volumes 1-3 (2nd floor)
Covers the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east. Entries range from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations. by
Call Number: REF DT14 .E43 2002 (2nd floor)
"The Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations covers the major historic civilizations and the fifty-two nations of Africa in an accessible A-to-Z format."
New Encyclopedia of Africa by
Call Number: REF DT2 .N48 2008, volumes 1-5 (2nd floor)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. by
Call Number: REF DT14 .I74 2010 (2nd floor)
"From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan-Africanism and Negritude, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diaspora in the Americas and in Europe."