Skip to Main Content
Free Websites: Multidisciplinary
- Educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials.
- Topics include history, science, art, literature, math, psychology, and more.
- Legal policy
- Site for researchers to share media clips "in a critical context that transforms and recontextualizes the media, adding value and significance" (FAQ).
- Add text or voice-over commentaries. Organize clips into lecture playlists.
- Terms of service excerpt: "You may access the Critical Commons Website to view video, textual, and audio materials posted within a curricular context without the need of an account."
Internet Archive: Cultural and Academic Films
Stream videos for scholarly purposes. Embed films using tool provided. Includes the Academic Film Archive of North America, the Chicago Film Archives, the Timothy Leary Video Archive, Dorothy Fadiman's Social Documentaries, Vintage Educational Films, and more!
National Film Board's Screening Room
From the National Film Board of Canada. Features over 3,000 productions streaming free of charge. Includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works.
- Stream full-length episodes of many PBS shows, including NOVA, Frontline, Independent Lens, and Nature.
- Library of 1500+ full-length documentary films, with topics ranging broadly from arts, religion, or politics to science, health, or environment.
- Embed video in course websites with the SnagFilms Widget.
- Videos talks on a multitude of topics; devoted to "ideas worth spreading."
- Educational video content in almost every subject area.
- Content from various colleges and universities.
- Embed video in course websites with the YouTube Embeddable Player.
Free Websites: Disciplinary or Niche
BioInteractive from Howard Hughes Medical Institute
- Medical topics, including biodiversity, evolution, stem cells, obesity, cancer, and DNA.
- Animation, lecture content, and virtual labs.
Black Film Archive
"Black Film Archive celebrates the rich, abundant history of Black cinema. We are an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context."
From site: "Presents short length + feature length documentary / film content from independent film-makers and grassroot productions to a global audience, to not only promote the art of film-making, but above all to spread awareness and promote the collective contemplation over global/local challenges." These films are voluntarily submitted by the filmmakers to be shared non-commercially.
BFI National Archive
Archive of British film and television recordings, as well as related artifacts (posters, images, publicity material, original scripts, letters and more). (BFI)
Silent Animation Preserved at UCLA
Ranging from 1900 to 1928. (Univ. of California Los Angeles)
Indigenous Cinema at the NFB
National Film Board of Canada
Russian Film Hub
From site: "Legally watch hundreds of Russian and Soviet movies with English subtitles for free. You can filter by genre, decade, director, and more."
Free Video Lectures and Courses from Universities