Research Guides: ENGL 6302: James Joyce: Home

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

hmenendez@shsu.edu
936-294-3195
NGL 223J (Library)

ENGL 6302 Resources Guide

Welcome! This guide is intended to provide supplementary resources and research materials for your course. Overall literature studies resources, as well as search tips, are located on the Literature and Literary Criticism Research Guide.

Note: Books listed on this guide that include a call number underneath the title are in print at the library. Otherwise, books are linked ebooks that can be read online or downloaded onto a device for a limited amount of time. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your SHSU credentials. Many ebooks are single-user, which means only one person can read and/or checkout the book at time, so if you are unable to log on to an ebook, check with your classmates to make sure it's not in use

All English Databases

Recommended Databases:

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism articles/essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more. Also includes a wide range of leading encyclopedias and other works in literary studies.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides over a million citations for items from thousands of journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

Journals:

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window Complete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.
Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window Comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.