This guide is intended to help you begin research on topics in the history of Britain before 1714.
This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this topic or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.
You may also be interested in consulting our more general research guide on Medieval Europe:
A Guide to Tudor and Jacobean Portraits
Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485
Life in Ancient Britain: From prehistoric to Roman times
Early Peoples of Britain and Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Tudor England: An Encyclopedia
Routledge Companion to the Tudor Age
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Revolutions and Wars of England, Scotland, and Ireland, 1639-1660
Daily Life in Anglo-Saxon England
The Renaissance: An encyclopedia for students
Encyclopedia of the Black Death
Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of British Isles, C. 450-1450
Daily Life During the Black Death
Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.
Subject headings allow you to find books according to broader and narrower topics.
Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."
You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.
Once you know some subject headings, you can also just use them as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.
An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges. Books on British history will generally be located on the 4th floor in the following call number ranges:
To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Click the icon in the bottom right corner of the video player to view it in full screen!
The Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England: A handbook for visitors to the fourteenth century by 
Religion and the Decline of Magic by The Last Medieval Queens: English queenship 1445-1503
Muslims and Crusaders: Christianity's Wars in the Middle East, 1095-1382, from the Islamic Sources
Hadrian's Wall: A life
The English Castle, 1066-1650The Sutton Hoo ship-burial; a handbook
The Third Horseman: Climate Change and the Great Famine in the 14th Century
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
