Research Guides: Counselor Education Research: Article & Video Resources

Your Friendly Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

936-294-4686

Welcome!

Specially designed for Counseling Education students and faculty, this library research guide provides direct access to discipline-specific and relevant multidisciplinary journal article databases, electronic access to the DSM-V, and exposes potentially useful reference materials, books/ebooks, and streaming video.

Need research assistance? Contact your friendly librarian! Misty Schattle at mschattle@shsu.edu.

Essential Databases

Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to the DSM-V
Mobile instruction: First access PsychiatryOnline from a desktop/laptop and create a My POL account. Then follow the instructions in this Device Pairing Guide.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Over 4,500 full text health and medical journals. Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more. ProQuest's unique mix of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference materials is accessible to those preparing for a career in healthcare.

Gale OneFile: Psychology Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
- This link opens in a new window

Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new window Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
- This link opens in a new window

Other Recommended Databases

Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.
Education Week This link opens in a new window More than a print journal, Education Week’s online platform is updated weekly with new articles, informational and instructional videos, webinars, and more. Special sections on technology, market trends (K-12), and job searching are also included.
Digital edition of Education Week also available here

Note on TexShare

Provided through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, TexShare is a consortium of Texas libraries that have joined together to share electronic and print materials.

TexShare Databases
Red and blue Texas icons indicate a database provided by the TexShare program. Each are accessible through participating academic and public libraries.
Request a TexShare Card
SHSU students, faculty, and staff can request a TexShare card here to borrow items from participating academic and public libraries.
Find a TexShare Library
Find a participating academic or public library here.

Journal Information Databases

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Cabell's Journalytics Academic & Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window NOTE:The supported browsers are Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, and Safari.
Provides publication details, including acceptance rates and key metrics, for journals in many disciplines. "Journalytics" list identifies high-quality journals; "Predatory Report" identifies likely predatory journals.
JCR: InCites Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Tool for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers internationally. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in science, technology, and social sciences.
Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions, Science and Social Sciences.

Recommended Instrument Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional This link opens in a new window Information about and reviews of English- and Spanish-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Pruebas Publicadas en Espaol provides extensive information on hundreds of tests published in Spanish.
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, providing vital information on each test and pointing to reviews in the MMY.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window Thousands of real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Streaming Video

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III) This link opens in a new window Hundreds of hours of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy This link opens in a new window Provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
Education in Video (Volumes I-II) This link opens in a new window Provides resources for both new and experienced teachers to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms, including emphases on education, emerging teaching approaches, special needs, English as a second language, and the US Common Core standards.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.

Useful Library Guides

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) User's Guide
by Erin Owens Last Updated Aug 2, 2024 522 views this year

Counselor Education Research