Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 1301/1302 Composition I & II
Writing Guide with Handbook (OpenStax Textbooks from Rice University) by
aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.
The Commons: Tools for Reading, Writing, and Rhetoric by
Publication Date: 2022
The Commons: Tools for Reading, Writing, and Rhetoric gives instructors and students of college writing courses a single source for information on metacognitive critical reading, rhetorical awareness, and MLA formatting basics as well as interesting and relevant reading and viewing content (essays, websites, videos, infographics, and poems). Its approach is interdisciplinary, bringing in material from ecology, sociology, psychology, technology, popular culture, political science, cultural studies, and literature.
Composition and Literature by
This book is divided into two parts. Part I is a Composition Handbook designed to teach students the components of the writing process and the conventions of various forms of school and college writing assignments. Part II is an Anthology of Literature designed to help students read actively, analyze, understand, enjoy, and appreciate stories, poems, and plays by a diverse and inclusive group of exceptional writers.
ENGL 2332 World Lit I: Before 17 Century
World Literature I: Beginnings to 1650 by
This peer-reviewed World Literature anthology includes introductory text and images before each series of readings. Sections of the text are divided by time period in three parts: the Ancient World, Middle Ages, and Renaissance, and then divided into chapters by location.
ENGL 2333 World Literature II: 17th Century & After
Compact Anthology of World Literature II: Volumes 4, 5, and 6 by
Part 4: The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries. Part 5: The Long Nineteenth Century. Part 6: The Twentieth Century and Contemporary Literature. Texts from a variety of genres and cultures are included in each unit. Additionally, each selection or collection includes a brief introduction about the author and text(s), and each includes 3 – 5 discussion questions.
ENGL 3330 Intro to Technical Writing
Technical Writing by
A textbook focusing on writing in the workplace, with an emphasis on audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids.
Open Technical Writing: An Open-Access Text for Instruction in Technical and Professional Writing by
This book presents technical writing as an approach to researching and carrying out writing that centers on technical subject matter. Each and every chapter is devoted to helping students understand that good technical writing is situationally-aware and context-driven. Technical writing doesn’t work off knowing the one true right way of doing things—there is no magic report template out there that will always work. Instead, the focus is on offering students a series of approaches they can use to map out their situations and do research accordingly.
Instructors Guide to OER for Introductory Technical Writing
"The 'OER Guide for WR 227 Instructors: Using Open Educational Resources (OERs) in WR 227 Courses' aims to help instructors make sense of and sort the massively decentralized and varying content of existing OERs available to support technical and professional writing courses. This guide is intended as a resource for introductory technical writing course instructors to adapt an existing course to integrate OER resources, or, to build a new course with all-OER student resources."
ENGL 3360 Survey of American Literature To 1865
Becoming America by
From the University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia. Featuring sixty-nine authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the diverse voices in early American literature.
American Literature I: An Anthology of Texts From Early America Through the Civil War by
This book offers an anthology of texts that includes letters, journals, poetry, newspaper articles, pamphlets, sermons, narratives, and short fiction written in and about America beginning with collected oral stories from Native American tribes and ending with the poetry of Emily Dickinson. Many major and minor authors are included, providing a sampling of the different styles, topics, cultures, and concerns present during the formation and development of America through the mid-nineteenth century.
Open Anthology of American Literature by
This anthology is divided into five major sections, starting with the Colonial period and ending with the publication of Harriet Jacobs’s Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl on the eve of the Civil War. Each section includes an overview and framework for approaching the readings, as well as overarching questions to help students think about the connections between the texts. There is also a brief introduction to each of the authors featured in these sections, followed by discussion questions based on the texts.
ENGL 3361 Survey of American Literature From 1865-Present
Writing the Nation by
Readers will encounter a comprehensive collection of over seventy-five short stories, poems, and novel selections that encompass the distinct writing styles of the writers and eras. The text takes students on an academic journey of American Literature from the period of Late Romanticism to Modernism and the present. Each chapter begins with brief writer bios and includes a concise introduction to the time period and how certain societal, economical, and political factors influenced writers in that era.
ENGL 3363 Mythology
Mythology Course Readings by
Some links may point to ebooks at a specific institution and may need to be modified for use at SHSU. Also incorporates video, podcasts, web pages, etc.
ENGL 3384 Early English Masterworks
British Literature I Anthology by
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you British Literature I: From the Middle Ages to Neoclassicism and the Eighteenth Century. Featuring over 50 authors and full texts of their works, this anthology follows the shift of monarchic to parliamentarian rule in Britain, and the heroic epic to the more egalitarian novel as genre.