All the cover images below with RED borders belong to this series. Covers a wide diversity of figures from many walks of life, from Rosa Parks to Miley Cyrus.
A (Very Small) Sample of Books
Please note that book-length biographies will not exist for all current noteworthy women. For many, you may need to search periodicals and/or locate biographical information on the world wide web.
These sample books are listed alphabetically by the woman's last name, not in any perceived order of importance. (wink)
Nine and Counting: Women of the Senate
Call Number: E748.S667 N56 2000 (4th floor)
Barbara Mikulski; Kay Bailey Hutchison; Dianne Feinstein; Barbara Boxer; Patty Murray; Olympia Snowe; Susan Collins; Mary Landrieu; Blanche Lincoln.
Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton
Call Number: E907 .C55 2014, 4th floor
Hillary Rodham Clinton's inside account of the crises, choices, and challenges she faced during her four years as America's 67th Secretary of State, and how those experiences drive her view of the future.
A Woman in Charge: The life of Hillary Rodham Clinton
Call Number: E887 .C55 B47 2008 (4th floor)
The Legacy of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Call Number: KF8745 .G56 L44 2015 (4th floor)
Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a legal icon. In more than four decades as a lawyer, professor, appellate judge, and associate justice of the US Supreme Court, Ginsburg has influenced the law and society in real and permanent ways. This book chronicles and evaluates the remarkable achievements Ruth Bader Ginsburg has made over the past half century. Including chapters written by prominent court watchers and leading scholars from law, political science, and history, it offers diverse perspectives on an array of doctrinal areas and on different time periods in Ginsburg's career. Together, these perspectives document the impressive legacy of one of the most important figures in modern law.
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Call Number: KF8745 .G56 C37 2015 (4th floor)
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg, created by the young lawyer who began the Internet sensation and an award-winning journalist, takes you behind the myth for an intimate, irreverent look at the justice's life and work.
From description: "Essential American novelist, whose critically acclaimed, bestselling books offer lively, powerful depictions of black America. The first African American woman to be honored with the Nobel Prize in literature."
The first comprehensive account of the life and times of Michelle Obama. From the lessons she learned in Chicago to the messages she shares as one of the most recognizable women in the world, the story of this First Lady is the story of America.
Sarah Palin: A biography
From description: "First female nominee on a Republican national presidential ticket."
Condoleezza Rice: A biography
Call Number: E840.8 .R48 E26 2006 (4th floor)
Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg
From description: "Sandberg is the chief operating officer of Facebook and is ranked on Fortune's list of the 50 Most Powerful Women in Business and as one of Time's 100 Most Influential People in the World."
Sonia Sotomayor: The True American Dream
Call Number: KF8745 .S67 F45 2010 (4th floor)
The definitive biography of the first Latina and third woman ever appointed to the Supreme Court.
Click the icon in the bottom right corner of the video player to view it in full screen!
Key Biographical Databases
Biography Index Past and PresentThis link opens in a new windowBiography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Newspapers, Broadcasts, Etc.
NBC Learn Higher EdThis link opens in a new windowNews broadcasts may be a good source of information on current newsmakers.
ALL videos include closed-captioning and text transcripts; click the CC button found on the right side of the video play controls, or click "Transcript" along the right edge of the video player. Details on NBC Learn Section 508 accessibility.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowSearch current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
Factiva.comThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
New York Times (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowThis digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Full-page, greyscale images are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting. Available issues will be approximately 3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
These periodicals can be great sources for information on very current figures, especially women.
Vogue Archive (1892-present)This link opens in a new windowEntire run of Vogue magazine from 1892-present, including text, images, captions, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Useful for researching fashion design and marketing, popular culture, photography and visual arts, gender, social history, designing period costumes, and more.