Skip to Main Content
Eighteenth Century: Primary Sources
Discoveries of America: Personal Accounts of British Emigrants to North America During the Revolutionary Era
Call Number: E184.B7 D57 1997, 4th floor
Journals and Letters of Fanny Burney (Madame D'Arblay) (1791-1815)
Call Number: PR3316.A4Z552 vol. 1-4 & 8, 3rd floor
Correspondence of King George the Third with Lord North 1768 to 1783
Call Number: DA506.A2A45 1971 vol. 1-2, 4th floor
Correspondence of George, Prince of Wales, 1770-1789
Call Number: DA538.A1A3 vol. 1, 4th floor
Correspondence of King George III from 1760 to December 1783
Call Number: DA506.A2A2 vol. 1-6, 4th floor
Later Correspondence of George III (Dec. 1783 - Jan. 1793)
Call Number: DA506.A2A4 vol. 1, 4th floor
The Yale Edition of Horace Walpole's Correspondence (1717-1797)
Call Number: DA 483 .W2 A12 vol. 1-48, 4th floor
Diaries of Sylvester Douglas (Lord Glenbervie) (1793-1819)
Call Number: DA506.G6 vol. 1-2, 4th floor
Political Journal of George Bubb Dodington
Call Number: DA501.M5A3 1965, 4th floor
Manuscripts of Captain Howard Vincenté Knox
Call Number: E195.G67 1972, 4th floor
Relating mainly to American affairs, 1757-1808, and to Ireland, 1767-1784.
Digital Primary Sources from the Library
The Times of London Digital Archive, 1785 to 5 years ago This link opens in a new window
"World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, from 1785 to about 5 years ago.
British Periodicals I & II This link opens in a new window
British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
Burney Collection: 17th- & 18th-Century Newspapers & More This link opens in a new window
Early English newspapers, pamphlets, and books, 17th and 18th centuries.
Eighteenth (18th) Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of pamphlets (mostly 19th century, but with some extension into the 17th and 18th centuries), primarily produced in Britain, but pertaining to many countries and peoples.
Early American Imprints 1639-1819 (includes Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker) This link opens in a new window
Virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639-1819. Documents almost every aspect of life in colonial America and the early U.S.
Primary Source Collections on the Web
British History Online
Contains core primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, 11th - 19th centuries. (Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust)
Brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain, 1500-1900.
Explore England's Past (Institute of Historical Research)
Thematically organized photographs, paintings, drawings, maps, text, transcribed documents and audio files documenting the history of various counties in England. (Note: Also contains secondary-source text/descriptions.) (Victoria County History, English Heritage, Institute of Historical Research, et. al.)
London Lives, 1690-1800: Crime, Poverty, and Social Policy in the Metropolis
Focus is on "plebian Londoners." Draws on 240,000+ manuscript and printed pages from eight London archives and fifteen datasets created by other projects. Also provides excellent research guides on topics such as interpreting manuscripts and researching various topics (crime, illness, poverty, etc.)
Political Caricatures of James Gillray, ca. 1770-1815
A leading force in the "golden age of English caricature," illustrator Gillray ridiculed politicians, religious leaders, and the ruling class of his day. (Princeton Univ.)
Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London's Central Criminal Court, 1674-1913
"A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court." (Univ. of Hertfordshire)
Need EVEN MORE Primary Sources?!?
- Or try this search tip:
- On the library catalog search page, first enter keywords related to your topic.
- Then, in the row marked subject, enter: "great britain" and sources (or just try the word "sources").