Research Guides: HIST 3360 / HIST 5378: American Religious History: Primary Sources

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Library Databases with Primary Source Content

American Periodicals, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window U.S. periodicals, including special interest, general, children's, women's, literary, and professional. Includes American independence and Civil War articles.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window American and U.S. local newspapers from all 50 states, ranging from 1690 to 1998.
British Periodicals I & II This link opens in a new window British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
Burney Collection: 17th- & 18th-Century Newspapers & More This link opens in a new window Early English newspapers, pamphlets, and books, 17th and 18th centuries.
Early American Imprints 1639-1819 (includes Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker) This link opens in a new window Virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639-1819. Documents almost every aspect of life in colonial America and the early U.S.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth (18th) Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window Journal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Primary Source Collections in Print

American religions : a documentary history
BL2525 .A542 2008, Main

Asian religions in America : a documentary history
BL2525 .A85 1999, Main

The Columbia sourcebook of Muslims in the United States
E184 .M88 C65 2008, Reference

A Documentary history of religion in America
BL2530.U6 D63 1982 vol. 1-2, Main

New religious movements : a documentary reader
BL2525 .N4865 2005, Main

American Religions by R. Marie Griffith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195170450
Publication Date: 2007-01-30

American Catholic History

Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana - Vatican Library Although not strictly "American," this digital archive of thousands of manuscripts from the Vatican library may inform Catholic history research. (Vatican Library)
Catholic Educational Exhibit, World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago Photographs documenting the building, hall, and alcoves where Catholic educational institutions displayed objects and printed material from 1892-1893 during the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, Illinois. (Catholic Univ. of America)
First Vatican Council Photograph Album Vatican Council I, the 20th of the general Councils, held in St. Peter's Basilica, Dec 8, 1869, through Sept 1, 1870. Primarily European participants, plus about 48 U.S. representatives. (Catholic Univ. of America)
The Treasure Chest of Fun & Fact Collection, 1946-1963 Catholic comic book provided to Catholic parochial school students, 1946-1972. Digital collection contains the first eighteen volumes, 1946-1963, which are in public domain. There are some issues missing from Volume 4 (1948-1949). Site also includes 2006 interview with illustrator and writer Frank Borth by the American Catholic History Research Center. (Catholic Univ. of America)

American Catholic History Classroom Series

A series of document collections from the Catholic University of America, each with accompanying background essays, teaching suggestions, and more.

If you consult these collections, BE SURE to distinguish carefully between the historical documents themselves and the accompanying secondary-source content.

Catholics and Education: The Oregon School Case Documents 1920s effort by the KKK to shut down Catholic schools and require public school attendance, approved by Oregon state voters but shot down by the U.S. Supreme Court. (Catholic Univ. of America)
Catholics and Industrialization American Catholic voices in the debates about how to cope with the spread of industrialization at the turn of the 20th century. (Catholic Univ. of America)
Catholics and Labor: The Catholic Church and the Knights of Labor Documents the relationship between Catholics and the Knights of Labor union. (Catholic Univ. of America)
Catholics and a Living Wage Examines American Catholic feelings about the growing gap between the richest and poorest Americans in the early 20th century. (Catholic Univ. of America)
Catholics and Politics in the 1936 Presidential Election: Documents Considers religious support during Franklin Roosevelt's 1936 presidential race. Features previously unavailable audio and documents related to the presidential campaign of 1936 and the involvement of each priest in that campaign. (Catholic Univ. of America)
African American Catholics: Documents Documents disagreements on race among American Catholics in the 1920s and 1930s. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Miscellaneous Religious History Topics

The American Colony in Jerusalem, 1870-2006 Manuscripts, letters, postcards, telegrams, diaries or journals, scrapbooks, printed materials, photographs, hand-drawn maps, and ephemera documenting the history of a non-denominational utopian Christian community founded by a small group of American expatriates in Ottoman Palestine. (Library of Congress)
Baptists and the American Civil War: In Their Own Words Documents antebellum and Civil War-era history of American Baptists, both North and South.
The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
(Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Documenting the American South
(Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
Early Virginia Religious Petitions
(Library of Virginia and Library of Congress)
Folkebladet, 1877-1952 A Norwegian language newspaper and the official newspaper of the Lutheran Free Church in Minneapolis. (Augsburg Univ.)
The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents (1610-1791) (Translated) Documents relations between Jesuits and Native Americans. (Creighton Univ.)
The Material History of American Religion Project
(Vanderbilt Univ. Divinity School)
Princeton Seminary Digital Library Provides digitized historic photographs, portraits, artifacts, and at least 12 historical religious journals. Includes, for instance, texts of sermons from the 1850s. (Princeton Theological Seminary) FYI: According to its website, the seminary is "rooted in the Reformed tradition," with "close ties with its parent denomination, the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)."
The Ram's Horn, an Interdenominational Social Gospel Magazine Digitized images from this magazine, published late 1890s to early 1900s (Ohio State Univ.)
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
(Library of Congress)
Shaping the Values of Youth: Sunday School Books in 19th Century America
(Michigan State Univ. Libraries)
The Ursuline Convent, Charlestown, Mass. Collection Documents the ministry of the Ursulines of Quebec in the Boston area and demonstrates a strong anti-Catholic sentiment in New England. Spans 1833 - 1903. Includes letters, an eyewitness report of the convent's burning in 1834, a scrapbook history, journals, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, and a photo and sketch of the convent. (Catholic Univ. of America)

American Jewish History

American Jewish Archives (Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the AJA, Hebrew Union College)
American Jewish Experience: Significant Documents (Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the AJA, Hebrew Union College)
American Jewish History Websites (Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the AJA, Hebrew Union College)