World History Focus - Historical Newspapers, Periodicals, and Other Documents
China, America, and the Pacific - 18th-20th centuriesThis link opens in a new windowArchival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Includes manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps.
China: Culture and Society (1750-1929)This link opens in a new windowFull-color primary materials in pamphlet form (mostly English language), ranging from c. 1750-1929, addressing China and the Chinese. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, interactive chronology, and more. Click "more" for details of content.
Full-color pamphlets (mostly English language), ranging from c. 1750-1929, addressing China and the Chinese. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, interactive chronology, and more.
Types of primary material include: Addresses and speeches; Annual reports; Assessments; Catalogues; Essays; Examinations; Guides and manuals; Inquiries and studies; Journals; Lecture notes; Letters; Magazine articles; Minutes of meetings; Notes and records.
Major themes include the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations and international conflict, religion and philosophy, opium (trade, consumption, policy), revolution, language, art, leisure, literature, science, trade, and much more.
Every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015, including full-color images, multiple search indexes, and browsing facilities. Timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news, including political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1974This link opens in a new windowThis historical archive provides 30 years of U.S. intelligence on international affairs, covering regions around the world from Asia, Africa, and Europe to Latin America, the Middle East, and the former Soviet Union. These reports include transcribed and translated radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories--often these are first-hand reports of events as they occurred.
Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowMonographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Periodicals Archive OnlineThis link opens in a new windowJournal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified"Contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe" in "the history of international relations and diplomacy," focusing on "the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation." (Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars)
World Digital LibrarySignificant primary source documents from around the world in multiple languages. Strong in Latin America & Europe. Also North America, Middle East, Africa, Asia, Oceania. Free collection produced by many international institutions and the United Nations.