Research Guides: HIST 3393 / HIST 5340: African American History: Find Primary Sources from the Library

Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Historical Newspapers & Periodicals

Want even MORE than what's linked here?? Check out this listing of "Historical African American Newspapers Available Online," compiled by the Marist College Library.

African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window Approximately 270 U.S. newspapers, 1827-1998, document African American experiences.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
American Periodicals, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window U.S. periodicals, including special interest, general, children's, women's, literary, and professional. Includes American independence and Civil War articles.

The Afro American Newspaper, 1902-1992
Freely available from Google News Archive. Many issues from 1906-1917 are titled Afro-American Ledger (below).
The Afro American Ledger Newspaper, 1906-1917
Freely available from Google News Archive. Many issues from 1902-1906, 1917-1922 are titled Afro-American (above).

America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window American and U.S. local newspapers from all 50 states, ranging from 1690 to 1998.
Austin American Statesman Historical, 1871-1980 This link opens in a new window New content is added each year. Consult the resource itself for the most recent content available.
Every issue of the Austin American Statesman / Austin Statesman, 1871-1980.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive 1885-1984 This link opens in a new window Documents major events in Texas, the U.S. and the world, 1885-1984. Full papers: articles, photos, graphics, maps, political cartoons, editorials, ads, recipes, etc.
Houston Chronicle Historical and Current, 1901-present This link opens in a new window The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.
New York Times Historical, 1851 to 3 years ago This link opens in a new window Every page of every issue of the New York Times, from 1851 until approximately 3 years ago.
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window 19th-century newspapers from various urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Strong in topics such as Civil War, African-American history, Western migration, etc.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the Library's subscriptions to the historical archives of the Austin-American Statesman, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

The Richmond Afro-American Newspaper, 1947
Freely available from Google News Archive.

The Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2014 This link opens in a new window "World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, from 1785 to 2014.

The Washington Afro-American Newspaper, 1938-1988
Freely available from Google News Archive.
The Washington Afro-American Newspaper, Red Star Edition, 1975
Freely available from Google News Archive.

Sources from Martin Luther King, Jr.

Select Speeches - Online from the MLK Jr. Research & Education Institute at Stanford

The papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Call Number: E185.97 .K5 A2 1992, vol. 1-6 - 4th floor
A testament of hope : the essential writings of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Call Number: E185.97.K5 A25 1986 - 4th floor

Find more books / get book details...

Sources from Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass Papers, Series One: Speeches, debates, and interviews (1841-1895)
Call Number: E449 .D733, vol. 1-5 - 4th floor
The Frederick Douglass Papers, Series Two: Autobiographical writings
Call Number: E449 .D734, vol. 1-3 - 4th floor
Frederick Douglass Papers, Series Three: Correspondence (1842-1852)
Call Number: E449 .D75 A4 2009, vol. 1 - 4th floor
Frederick Douglass, The Orator
Call Number: Read Online
Includes selections of speeches and writings
Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave by Frederick Douglass
Call Number: Read Online
My bondage and my freedom by Frederick Douglass
Call Number: Read Online

Find more books / get book details...

Help with Primary Sources

How to Understand and Find Primary Sources

What Did They Call...?

Language changes constantly over time. For example, African American is common today, but historically people have used Afro-American, black, colored, Negro, African, slave, etc. How do you know what word historical people used for an idea?

Search the Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary (or find it in the library in the 2nd floor Reference section, call number PE1591 .H55 2009, volumes 1-2).

Primary Sources in Print

Often a variety of primary documents are collected together into a book (usually related to a time period, topic, or theme).

Below are just a few broad collections in the Library; each book contains many original documents.

The African-American Archive: The History of the Black Experience in Documents
Call Number: E184.6 .A33 2001, 4th floor
Freedom on My Mind: The Columbia Documentary History of the African American Experience
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online - Print also available: E184.6 .F74 2003, 2nd floor Reference Area
Milestone Documents in African American History: Exploring the Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: E184.6 .M55 2010 volumes 1-4, 2nd floor Reference Area
Voices of the African American Experience
Call Number: E184.6 .V65 2009 volumes 1-3, 2nd floor Reference Area

Sources from W. E. B. Du Bois

Writings by W. E. B. Du Bois
Call Number: E185.97.D73 A2 1986 - 4th floor
Against racism : unpublished essays, papers, addresses, 1887-1961 by W. E. B. Du Bois
Call Number: Read Online - Or find print: E185.97.D73A25 1985, 4th floor
The correspondence of W. E. B. Du Bois
Call Number: Read Online - Or find print: E185.97.D73A4 1973, vol. 1-3 - 4th floor
W. E. B. Du Bois speaks; speeches and addresses
Call Number: E185.5.D84, vol. 1-2 - 4th floor
The souls of black folk by W. E. B. Du Bois
Call Number: Read Online - Or find print: E185.6 .D797 1999, 4th floor
The gift of black folk: The Negroes in the making of America by W. E. B. Du Bois
Call Number: E185 .D83 2007 - 4th floor
The education of black people: Ten critiques, 1906-1960 by W. E. B. Du Bois
Call Number: LC2801.D79 1975 - 4th floor

Find more books / get book details...

Sources from Booker T. Washington

Booker T. Washington Papers - Online from the University of Illinois

The Booker T. Washington papers
Call Number: E185.97.W274, vol. 1-8 - 4th floor
Up from slavery
Call Number: Read Online - Or find print: E185.97.W3 1971, 4th floor
The story of the Negro : the rise of the race from slavery
Call Number: E185 .W316 2005 - 4th floor

Find more books / get book details...

HIST 3393 / HIST 5340: African American History