It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Texas History: Primary Source Collections Online
Find and search Texas History primary source collections on the Internet
This is a listing of high-quality Texas History websites selected by the History Bibliographer. The focus is on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations.
The library is not responsible for the content of the selected sites.
No endorsement is given to additional sites which are linked to by selected sites.
It is a student's responsibility to accurately cite online materials used in research.
Taken in 1903 and 1907, these 255 gelatin silver prints were originally published in American Lumberman, a weekly trade journal. The majority of the shots document lumber production activities near Diboll in East Texas, including log cutting, transportation, sawmills, and kilns. The collection also provides a glimpse of everyday life in a company town and in the logging camps. (Univ.of North Texas)
Texas Seaport Museum has compiled the nation’s only computerized listing of immigrants to Galveston, Texas. The database includes names of passengers and members of their traveling parties, age, gender, occupation, country of origin, ship name, dates of departure and arrival, and destination in the United States. Information is also provided for a small number of ship arrivals. The ship database includes ship name, type of ship, master, home port of ship, arrival date at Galveston, port of departure, destination port, tonnage, number of immigrants, ship owner, and citation source. (Texas Seaport Museum)
City directories spanning approximately 1866 to 1923. Provides information on government entities, banks, churches, schools, benevolent societies, local businesses, and private citizens. (Houston Public Library)
A weekly Italian language newspaper that was published in San Antonio and Galveston between 1907 and 1913. Galveston, Houston, and San Antonio each had growing communities of Italians in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. (Univ. of North Texas, Portal to Texas History)
The Indianola Immigrant Database seeks to record the individuals and families that reached Texas through that ill-fated port of Indianola on the Texas coast. Most historical accounts relate that there were thousands of people who immigrated through the port of Indianola but there were never any official passenger lists for this port. The Indianola Immigrant Database is an effort to record Indianola immigration via family history, printed histories, and other sources that are often provided by descendents. (Victoria Regional History Center (VRHC) at the Victoria College/Univ. of Houston-Victoria Library)
Detailed information about the Texas Legislature and its legislation, leaders, sessions, committees, statistics, and more. Use the Legislative Archive System to search for bills; digitized documentation is available for some bills.
John Herrera practiced law in Houston from 1943 to 1986 and was a leading civil rights advocate for Mexican Americans in Texas. This collection contains the private and public papers of John J. Herrera, 1940s-1970s, with an emphasis on his civic, business, and political activities. (Houston Metropolitan Research Center, Houston Public Library)
Includes oral histories, newspaper clippings, photocopies of secondary source materials, brochures, newsletters, and photographs either created, gathered, or maintained by Barnes. Dates range from 1830-1991, bulk 1920-1991. (Rice Univ.)
Reflects a wide range of families and individuals through photographs and documents that capture business and work experiences, festivals and community events, daily life and individual achievements. (Houston Metropolitan Research Center, Houston Public Library)
The archive will eventually contain almost 30 years of the station's news footage from 1950 to 1979 and the original broadcast scripts, available on the Portal to Texas History; digitization has begun with the fall of 1956. "The Texas News" program on what was then WBAP-TV was the first newscast in Texas and the Southwest. (Univ. of North Texas)
Contains a variety of collections related to the history of Houston and Texas, including early Houston histories; Houston area land records; Houston Asian American oral histories; Houston waterways collection; Port of Houston records; and more. (Rice Univ.)
Official service record files from the Adjutant General's Office and alphabetical files created by other agencies... related to an individual's service in a military unit. Information in a file varies considerably; may include measurements of uniforms, payments for mustering-in, warrants of authority, individual equipment records, general orders, oaths of allegiance, pay vouchers, powers of attorney, and discharge verifications. Names listed in the index do not represent all people who served in the various units, only those represented in the records described above. If an individual is not found in the index, it should not be assumed that they did not serve. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Texas Week was the first weekly magazine to be devoted entirely to the State of Texas. Founded right after WWII, its focus was on capturing the post-War normalization of the State – culturally, politically and structurally. (Univ. of North Texas, Portal to Texas History)
Collections from a wide range of institutions, including the 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum, the Howard Payne University Library, and the Abilene Public Library, including oral histories, city directories, cemetery records, and much more. (Abilene Library Consortium)
"In the 19th century, Texas artisans & artists created ceramics, furniture, textiles, metalworks, photographs, paintings, and works on paper in this growing region... Their lives, practices, and products are captured in the census records, city directories, newspapers and primary sources included in the Hill Archive." (Museum of Fine Arts Houston)