Research Guides: Physics Research Guide: Find Articles

Databases

These library databases may be useful in locating articles on topics in Physics. It is not meant to be comprehensive. Please contact the subject librarian for further assistance.

Atwood Machine Up by Paul Anderson/Flickr.com CC BY 2.0

APS Journals Archive (formerly named PROLA, Physical Review Online Archive) This link opens in a new window
A full text article database of every issue of the journal "Physical Review", "Physical Review Letters, "Physical Review Special Topics" and "Reviews of Modern Physics".
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A huge database of all the sciences. Provides citation and abstracts, plus some full-text to articles in all sciences, including physics, astronomy, materials science and engineering.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
Physics and engineering journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and other publishers. Scitation is home to the most influential news, comment, analysis and research in the Physical Sciences.

Additional Databases

Annual Reviews Science Collection This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains physical constants and formulas, properties of elements and organic and inorganic compounds, and other chemical data.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Science Online This link opens in a new window Science magazine (1997-current issue), plus ScienceNOW and additional news, multimedia, and other content.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

Physics Research Guide

Databases

Additional Databases

Quick Searches