Environmental History: Primary Source Collections Online
American Lumberman Photographs of Southern Pine Company
Taken in 1903 and 1907, these 255 gelatin silver prints were originally published in American Lumberman, a weekly trade journal. The majority of the shots document lumber production activities near Diboll in East Texas, including log cutting, transportation, sawmills, and kilns. The collection also provides a glimpse of everyday life in a company town and in the logging camps. (Univ.of North Texas)
Climate Change Conversations: Causes, Impacts, and Solutions
This exhibit highlights public broadcasting recordings of conversations on climate change—its causes, impacts, and proposed solutions—from 1970, the first year that Earth Day was celebrated, to the present. (American Archive of Public Broadcasting)
Environmental History Resources
Essays, bibliographies, podcasts, news, and more. Site maintained by Dr Jan Oosthoek, an environmental historian based at the University of Newcastle in England.
Forest History Society Databases
Information about primary and secondary sources in forest, conservation, and environmental history. Also a database of images.
Gerald W. Williams Collection
Collected historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service. Includes titles pertaining to environmental history and natural resources issues, as well as Pacific Northwest and general U.S. history, Native Americans, photography, and geology and geography. (Oregon State Univ.)
IncidentNews.gov
News, photos, and other information about selected oil spills (and other incidents) from 1957 to the present. (NOAA Office of Response & Restoration)
Oil Spills: Historical Information
Collections of original reports and documents on a variety of oil spills since 1993. Also includes a link to Oil Spill Case Histories since 1967. (NOAA Office of Response & Restoration)
Everglades Digital Library
Library of information resources relating to the South Florida environment. Scope of collection includes scientific and technical reports, natural history writings, educational and interpretive materials, datasets, maps, photos, and a directory of other Internet sites relating to the greater Everglades. (Florida International Univ.)
Texas Almanac Online
In addition to the site's current information, the archive contains all the Almanacs from 1857 to 1989.
(Texas State Historical Commission)
Western Waters Digital Library
"...Water-related resources regarding the trans-Mississippi region of North America. The resources include classic water literature, government reports, legal transcripts, water project records, personal papers, photographic collections, and audio/video materials associated with four major river basins of the Western United States."
