Primary Source Collections
Allan Hancock Foundation Collection of Sound Recordings
Primarily World War II-era classical music recordings. "This collection includes the Velero station log and Allan Hancock Foundation publications, as well as sound recordings produced by the Allan Hancock Foundation for radio broadcast in the 1930's and 1940's. Many of the sound recordings are of the Hancock Ensemble whose 'cellist was Allan Hancock." (Univ. of Southern California)
Hip Hop Archive
Digital collection of news clippings, photographs, press packets, correspondence and more, from the archive of music journalist and publicist Bill Adler. Adler worked at Def Jam Records from 1984 to 1990, when the label released groundbreaking work by the Beastie Boys, Public Enemy, Slick Rick, EPMD and 3rd Bass, and also worked at Rush Artist Management, which represented Kurtis Blow, Whodini, Eric B. & Rakim, Stetsasonic, Big Daddy Kane, DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince, De La Soul and others. (Cornell Univ.)
ReSounding the Archives
Historic sheet music comes to life through digitization of sheet music, along with transcribed text, performance, and accompanying student research. Shared for reuse under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC 4.0). Note: Student essays are secondary sources, but historical sheet music can be a primary source. (George Mason Univ., Univ. of Virginia, and Virginia Tech)
Sounding Spirit Digital Library
Features songbooks and hymnals published across the southern United States from 1850 to 1925. Includes words-only hymnals, gospel songbooks, spiritual collections, and shape-note tunebooks, demonstrating the wide variety of form, content, and presentation in southern vernacular sacred songbooks. (Emory University, et al.)
