Skip to Main Content
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for quantitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania, collected between 1750-2010. Conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries. Access more than 750,000 original poll questions and results from 18,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 100+ other countries from 1986 to the present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistic portals integrated data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets, categorized into 21 market sectors.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Freely Available Sources
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Division of U.S. Dept. Education responsible for collecting, analyzing, and reporting complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducting and publishing reports; and reviewing and reporting on education activities internationally.
Also see from NCES:
• Digest of Education Statistics
• 120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait
• K-12 Practitioners’ Circle
• The Condition of Education
US Census Bureau - Education
Provides information on educational topics including: educational attainment, school enrollment, public school system finances, school districts, teaching about statistics, and educational services. Also see:
• Statistical Abstracts Series
• American FactFinder
Texas Education Agency
Texas has one of the largest education data bases in the world, known as PEIMS. Provides a treasure trove of information for researchers, parents and the public at large to mine and learn about the workings of 1,200 school districts and charters, as well as TEA.
Texas Higher Education Data
Texas' primary source for statistics on higher education. Contains reports, statistics, queries, interactive tools, and downloadable data, with links on enrollment and success, course and facilities inventories, interactive institutional locator maps, and degrees offered.
The sources below will help you find actual sets of raw data, not just aggregated statistics about the data.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.
Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of premier datasets and thousands of variables. Each dataset is structured identically and includes the raw data file, SPSS program statements, SAS program statement, SPSS data dictionary, SPSS frequencies, SPSS portable file, and a User's Guide.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Google Dataset Search
"Similar to how Google Scholar works, Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page."
Searches Earth and environmental data across multiple member repositories.
DataCite searches across multiple platforms for datasets that have Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs).
Developed for the storage and collaboration of datasets on many different topics
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
240,000+ economic and financial time-series data from U.S. and international sources. Also provides tools to download data, create maps and graphs, and more. (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Mendeley Data Search
Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. Mendeley Data Search helps others to find and access this data.
From site: "The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data."
This is the website of the United Nations Statistical Division, containing statistics collected by the statistical division and publications produced by the statistical division.
allows simultaneous searching of 24 databases from UN Statistics and Population Divisions, UN specialized agencies (International Labour Organization, Food and Agriculture Organization [FAO], World Health Organization), and member states (statistics collected by the national statistical agencies of member states).
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
European Data Portal
"The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries. Information regarding the provision of data and the benefits of re-using data is also included."
European Union Open Data Portal
Single point of access to a growing range of data produced by the institutions and other bodies of the European Union. Data are free to use, reuse, link and redistribute for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
IPUMS - International Census Data
"Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space." Free data with robust documentation.
UK Data Service
"the UK’s only nationally funded research infrastructure for curating and providing access to social science data"
Pew Research Center
Data about a variety of political and social trends in America.
UCI Datasets for Machine Learning
Center for Machine Learning and Intelligent Systems
Data Portal of the Natural History Museum (London)
"The Museum is committed to open access and open science, and has launched the Data Portal to make its research and collections datasets available online. It allows anyone to explore, download and reuse the data for their own research."
Research Data Gov
Web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies
Re3Data: Registry of Research Data Repositories
Tool to search and browse for data repositories in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines.