Research Guides: U.S. Founders and Presidents: Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents A-L

Adams, John

Papers of John Adams, SHSU Library 4th floor, E302 .A26 1977 vol. 1-11
Letters from a distinguished American: twelve essays by John Adams on American foreign policy, 1780, SHSU Library 4th floor, E203.A57
The Adams-Jefferson letters: the complete correspondence between Thomas Jefferson and Abigail and John Adams, SHSU Library 4th floor, E322.A516 1971
Early American views on Negro slavery, from the letters and papers of the founders of the Republic (Washington, Jefferson, Adams, Madison, Franklin), SHSU Library 4th floor, E446.M47 1969
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of John Adams at the American Presidency Project
Adams Papers: Early Access, at U. VA Founders Early Access
Select papers of John Adams at the Avalon Project at Yale
Adams Family Papers Electronic Archive at the Massachusetts Historical Society
The works of John Adams vol. 1 at Google Books
The works of John Adams vol. 4 at Google Books
The works of John Adams vol. 5 at Google Books

Adams, John Quincy

Arthur, Chester A

Papers of Chester Arthur at the American Presidency Project

Buchanan, James

The works of James Buchanan, comprising his speeches, state papers, and private correspondence, SHSU Library 4th floor, E337.8 .B9 1960 vol.1-12
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of James Buchanan at the American Presidency Project
Mr. Buchanan’s administration on the eve of the rebellion (by himself), at Google Books
The works of James Buchanan, vol. 12, at Google Books

Bush, George H. W. ("George Bush Sr.")

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, George Bush - SHSU Library 4th floor, J80 .A283 1989-1993 (8 vols)
Speaking of Freedom: The Collected Speeches - SHSU Library 4th floor, J82 .E6 2009
All the best, George Bush: my life in letters and other writings - SHSU Library 4th floor, E838.5 .B872 1999
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of George Bush at the American Presidency Project
Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S. at the National Archives & Records Administration
Online editions of the public papers of Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George H. W. Bush, and Ronald Reagan. (National Archives)

Bush, George W. ("George Bush Jr.")

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, George W. Bush - SHSU Library 4th floor, J80 .A283 2001-2007 (15 vols)
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Textual and audiovisual materials from the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum at Southern Methodist University
Papers of George W. Bush at the American Presidency Project
Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S. at the National Archives & Records Administration
Online editions of the public papers of Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George H. W. Bush, and Ronald Reagan. (National Archives)

Carter, Jimmy

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Jimmy Carter
Call Number: J80 .A283 1977-1981
The Great debates: Carter vs. Ford, 1976
Call Number: E868.G73
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Jimmy Carter at the American Presidency Project

Cleveland, Grover

Clinton, William "Bill"

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, William J. Clinton - SHSU Library 4th floor, J80 .A283 1993-2001 (17 vols)
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Bill Clinton at the American Presidency Project
Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S. at the National Archives & Records Administration
Online editions of the public papers of Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George H. W. Bush, and Ronald Reagan. (National Archives)

Coolidge, Calvin

The price of freedom; speeches and addresses - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E660.C725
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Calvin Coolidge at the American Presidency Project

Eisenhower, Dwight D.

Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower This link opens in a new window Complete electronic edition of the papers of President Eisenhower, including letters, memoranda, cables, and directives written or dictated by Eisenhower from the years prior to World War II through the full term of his presidency.

The papers of Dwight David Eisenhower - SHSU Library 4th floor, D735 .E37 vol. 1-17
Public papers of the Presidents of the United States: Dwight D. Eisenhower - SHSU Library, 4th floor, J80 .A283 1953-1961 (8 vols)
Eisenhower: the prewar diaries and selected papers 1905-1941 - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E742.5 .E372 1998
Eisenhower speaks; Dwight D. Eisenhower in his messages and speeches - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E745.E35A48
Dear General; Eisenhower's wartime letters to Marshall - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E836.A42
Eisenhower's own story of the war; the complete report - SHSU Library, 4th floor, D756.E3
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Dwight Eisenhower at the American Presidency Project
Online Documents at the Eisenhower Presidential Library & Museum
YouTube Channel for the Eisenhower Presidential Library: including speeches, interviews, etc

Fillmore, Millard

The lady and the president: the letters of Dorothea Dix & Millard Fillmore - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E427.D59 1975
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Millard Fillmore at the Library of Congress
Papers of Millard Fillmore at the American Presidency Project
Millard Fillmore papers, vol. 10 at Google Books
Millard Fillmore papers, vol. 11 at Google Books

Ford, Gerald

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Gerald R. Ford - SHSU Library, 4th floor, J80 .A283 1974-1977 (6 vols)
The Great debates: Carter vs. Ford, 1976 - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E868.G73
Write it when I'm gone: remarkable off-the-record conversations - SHSU Library, 4th floor, E866 .D43 2007
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Gerald Ford at the American Presidency Project
Digital Collections at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library & Museum

Garfield, James A.

Index to the James A. Garfield papers
Call Number: E687.2.U58
Memoirs and selected letters
Call Number: E660 .G7562 1990
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of James Garfield at the American Presidency Project

Grant, Ulysses S.

Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, SHSU Library 4th floor, E 660 .G74 vol. 1-24
Memoirs and Selected Letters, SHSU Library 4th floor, E660 .G7562 1990
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Ulysses Grant at the American Presidency Project
Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, vol. 1 (online edition) at Questia

Harding, Warren G.

Papers of Warren G. Harding at the American Presidency Project

Harrison, Benjamin

Speeches of Benjamin Harrison
Call Number: E660.H29 1971
The correspondence between Benjamin Harrison and James G. Blaine 1882-1893
Call Number: E702.H36
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Benjamin Harrison at the American Presidency Project

Harrison, William Henry

Harrison Papers - SHSU Library 1st floor, E173 .D72 SER X REEL 62 [Microform, in-building only]
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of William Henry Harrison at the Library of Congress
Papers of William Henry Harrison at the American Presidency Project

Hayes, Rutherford B

Hayes: the diary of a president 1875-1881, SHSU Library 4th floor, E682.H48
Teach the freeman; the correspondence of Rutherford B. Hayes and the Slater Fund for Negro Education, 1881-1887, SHSU Library, 4th floor, LC2707.J6 vol. 1-2
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Rutherford Hayes at the American Presidency Project
Diaries & Letters at Ohio Historical Society and Hayes Presidential Center

Hoover, Herbert

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States : Herbert Hoover, SHSU Library 4th floor, J80 .A283 1929-1933 (4 vols)
The Hoover-Wilson wartime correspondence, September 24, 1914, to November 11, 1918 - SHSU Library 4th floor, E802.H693
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Herbert Hoover at the American Presidency Project
Public Papers & Memoirs of Herbert Hoover at the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library & Museum
Hoover/Truman Documents at the Hoover & Truman Presidential Libraries

Jackson, Andrew

Papers of Andrew Jackson at the American Presidency Project

Jefferson, Thomas

LIBRARY DATABASE: The Papers of Thomas Jefferson Online
The papers of Thomas Jefferson
Call Number: E302 .J463 vol.1-24, 32
The Adams-Jefferson letters : the complete correspondence between Thomas Jefferson and Abigail and John Adams
Call Number: E322.A516 1971
Writings
Call Number: E302.J442 1984
Early American views on Negro slavery, from the letters and papers of the founders of the Republic (Washington, Jefferson, Adams, Madison, Franklin)
Call Number: E446.M47 1969
Index to the Thomas Jefferson papers
Call Number: E332.81.U58
SHSU Library Items: Find More Books / Get Details...
Papers of Thomas Jefferson at the American Presidency Project
Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive at the University of Virginia
Jefferson Papers at the Library of Congress
Select Papers of Thomas Jefferson at Princeton University
Jefferson Family Letters Project at the Thomas Jefferson Foundation
The Writing of Thomas Jefferson, various volumes, at Google Books

Johnson, Andrew

The Papers of Andrew Johnson, SHSU Library 4th floor, E415.6 .J65 1967 vol. 1-16
Trial of Andrew Johnson, President of the United States, before the Senate of the United States on impeachment by the House of Representatives for high crimes and misdemeanors - SHSU Library, 4th floor, KF5075.J6 1970 vol. 1-2
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Andrew Johnson at the American Presidency Project
Speeches of Andrew Johnson
At the University of Michigan's "Making of America" Project
Trial of Andrew Johnson, President of the United States, before the Senate of the United States on impeachment by the House of Representatives for high crimes and misdemeanors
At the University of Michigan's "Making of America" Project

Johnson, Lyndon B.

LIBRARY DATABASE: The Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson
Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Lyndon B. Johnson
Call Number: J80 .A283 1963-1969 (10 vols)
Lyndon B. Johnson's Vietnam papers : a documentary collection
Call Number: DS557.4 .J64 1997
Reaching for glory: Lyndon Johnson's secret White House tapes, 1964-1965
Call Number: E846 .R38 2001
The Kennedy Assassination Tapes
Call Number: E842.9 .J6425 2004
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Lyndon B. Johnson at the American Presidency Project
Online Collections at the LBJ Presidential Library
* Click Online Collections after the Research page opens. *
Selected audio and video, photos, oral histories, telephone recordings, daily diary, and the Pentagon Papers.

Kennedy, John F.

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States: John F. Kennedy
Call Number: J80 .A283 1961-1963 (3 vols)
The Kennedy-Khrushchev letters
Call Number: E183.8 .S65 K474 2001
John F. Kennedy on education
Call Number: E842.1.A6O35
To turn the tide; a selection from President Kennedy's public statements
Call Number: E841.K43
SHSU Library Items: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of John F. Kennedy at the American Presidency Project
Digital Collections at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum
YouTube Channel for the Kennedy Presidential Library: including speeches, interviews, etc.
JFK Assassination Records Collection from the National Archives
JFK Assassination: Declassified Documents from the National Security Administration (NSA)

Lincoln, Abraham

The collected works of Abraham Lincoln
Call Number: E457.91 .C65 1959 vol. 1-9
The Collected works of Abraham Lincoln. Second supplement, 1848-1865
Call Number: E457.91 1953 vol. 11
Speeches and writings
Call Number: E457.92 1989 (1832-1858) and E457.92 1989B (1859-1865)
The writings of Abraham Lincoln
Call Number: E457.91 1906 vol. 1-8 [Thomason Room, 4th floor, in-building only]
The Lincoln-Douglas debates : the first complete, unexpurgated text
Call Number: E457.4 .L776 1993
Lincoln on race & slavery
Call Number: E457.2 .L744 2009
In Lincoln's hand : his original manuscripts
Call Number: E457.92 2009
SHSU Library ItemS: Find More / Get Details...
Papers of Abraham Lincoln at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
Papers of Abraham Lincoln at the American Presidency Project