Research Guides: U.S. Founders and Presidents: Primary Sources: Home

Help with Primary Sources

Understand Primary vs. Secondary Sources

General Resources

Public and Private Papers from the Miller Center for Public Affairs at the University of Virginia
(excellent guide to extant papers of presidents and select presidential associates)

The American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
(worth searching here for isolated documents)

A compilation of the messages and papers of the presidents
J81.B96 1929 vol. 1-20
(proclamations, addresses, and messages from Presidents Washington through Wilson)

Introduction

This list highlights key collections of personal papers and political writings but is not comprehensive; the Library may own more writings by the individual. To see more, click the “Find More / Get Details” link.

Library books can be checked out unless specified otherwise.

Suggestions or corrections? Please post a comment or send an email!

Can't Find What You Need?

Looking for a person not listed in this guide, or need even more sources than are listed?

Search the American Memory Project for individual documents.
Find possible sources at: The Association for Documentary Editing: Projects & Editions
Refer to the Miller Center’s “Public and Private Papers” site to find books/microfilm to borrow by Interlibrary Loan. (Contact the library for help with Interlibrary Loan.)
Search the WorldCat database to find books/microfilm to borrow by Interlibrary Loan. (Contact the library for help with Interlibrary Loan).

Useful Tools

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.

SHSU Writing Center Handouts
Many handouts on structuring your essays, editing your writing, and citing your sources.

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Web-based tool for keeping track of all your sources (export them from many databases). Create formatted citations and bibliographies in just a few clicks.
Introduction / instructions for SHSU users.
Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

3 Tip in 3 Minutes: History Research Video Series
These short video tutorials, created by the SHSU History Librarian, will teach you tricks to become more efficient and effective in your History research.
Careers, Grad Studies, and Opportunities in History
Are you planning graduate work or a career in History? Take a look at this guide for information on grad schools, awards, job listings, and MORE!

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Originally Curated By

Erin Owens

she/her/hers

Contact:

936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
NGL 223D
ORCID: 0000-0001-9520-9314

I'm Creative Commons Certified! I can advise on CC licenses to reuse, remix, and publish open resources.

Subjects: OER: Open (or Free) Educational Materials, Scholarly Communication