Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Research Guide: Texas Legal Resources

General

General Texas Legal Resources
Title Description

Vernon's Annotated Constitution of the State of Texas 

REF KFT1230 .A3 V4

Detailed resource for researching the Texas Constitution of 1876.

West's Texas Forms

REF KFT1268 .W47

Contains form examples for drafting legal documents. Includes in-depth commentary and analysis of relevant statutes and cases. Form preparation features detailed table of contents, background and overview, drafting checklists, client interview worksheets, alternative provisions and clauses, substantive research features, references to tax considerations, and references to federal law

Texas State Directory

 

Guide to Texas state, city and county government

Online Directory

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Dianna Kim
Contact:
936-294-3687
dlk011@shsu.edu

Criminal

Texas Criminal Legal Resources
Title Description

Vernon's Annotated Code of Criminal Procedure of the State of Texas

REF KFT1230.5

 

 

Analyzes chapter headings and included disposition table for tracing repealed subject matter of original code. Contains detailed index as well as historical and statutory notes.

 

Texas DWI Defense: The Law and Practice  

REF KFT1497.8 .C64 2018

 

 

Trial manual for DWI defense attorneys.  Contains motion practice, expert witness, and chemical testing information, as well as trial tips, form examples, Texas case law, and the Texas Rules of Evidence.

 

 

Texas Education Law

 

Title Description

Texas School Law Bulletin

REF KFT1590 .A29 T48

Produced by the Texas Education Agency, this manual contains the Texas Education Code (TEC) and other pertinent laws that impact the operation of public school districts. This resource is intended to serve as a reference guide for school trustees, educators, and members of the general public.

The education code can also be found on the Texas Education Agency's web site.

The Educator's Guide to Texas School Law 

KFT1590.W357 2018 eb) (eBook)

Authoritative source on all major dimensions of Texas school law. Contains a review of the legal structure of the Texas school system, personnel, expression and associational rights, the role of religion in public schools, student discipline, open meetings and records, privacy, search and seizure, and legal liability under both federal and Texas law. In addition to state law, the book addresses the growing role of the federal government in school operation through such major federal legislation as the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, and the No Child Left Behind Act.
Independent School District Websites Independent school district websites are a great source for statutory information related to the power and duties of various bodies connected to Texas schools.

 

Civil

Texas Civil Legal Resources
Title Description

Courtroom Handbook on Texas Evidence 

REF KFT1280 .T49

Handbook for civil practitioners containing Texas Rules of Evidence, constitutional provisions, statutes, and court rules pertaining to the admissibility of evidence. 

Texas Trial Handbook 3d 

REF KFT1738 .J65

Concentrates on procedural and substantive aspects of trial practice. Includes Texas trial-related case law, rules, and statutes as well as federal case law.

Vernon's Texas Rules of Civil Procedure 

REF KFT1729 .A315 A2

Covers district and county courts rules, courts of appeals rules, Supreme Court rules, justice courts rules, and special proceedings. Includes Rules of Evidence and Rules of Appellate Procedure.

 

Texas Education Agency

 
TEA Commissioner's Hearing Decisions

This database of TEA Commissioner Hearing and Appeal Decisions can be searched by using full or partial entries for any of these criteria:

  • Docket Number (docket numbers for 2010 to the present contain 4-digit year, ex: 001R10012018; docket numbers for 2009 and prior contain 2-digit year, ex: 001R100109.)
  • Petitioner Name
  • Respondent Name
  • End Year
  • Keywords
TEA Special Education Due Process Hearing Decisions The Office of General Counsel is responsible for the public dissemination of special education due process hearing decisions in accordance with 20 U.S.C. §§1415(h)(4)(A) and 1417(c). Section 1415(h)(4)(A) requires that hearing decisions be made available to the public consistent with the requirements of section 1417(c) relating to the confidentiality of data, information, and records. Section 1417(c) requires the protection of the confidentiality of any personally identifiable data, information, and records collected or maintained by the Secretary of Education and by state and local education agencies.

 

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System