Research Guides: Children & Young Adult Materials: Articles & Databases

Magazines & Periodicals for Youth

Classification Web This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students. - LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records. - LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables. - Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.
MackinVia This link opens in a new window MackinVIA provides easy access to eBooks, audiobooks, educational databases, and videos for K-12 students and teachers. Use MackinVIA on any desktop, laptop, or mobile device with Internet access; content can be embedded into Blackboard or other LMS.
Something About the Author Online This link opens in a new window Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993.
NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Library & Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
Containing English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books, this database encompasses subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the history of library studies.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books, including thousands of educational resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in both the K-12 and children's/youth program environments. Designed to be used by K-12 teachers, librarians, students, families -- anyone using children's and youth books. Includes Spanish-language resources.

Email Me

Contact:

936-294-4686

Email Me

Contact:

Newton Gresham Library
NGL 125E

936-294-1624

Subjects: Computer Science