Streaming Media

MCM (Zach) ----  Wrightsville Beach Studios, Ltd. http://wrightsvillebeachstudios.com/licenses.html

$949.50 bundle for all 3 films  (**Purchased from vendor for perpetual access.  HOSTED ON KANOPY**) 

• LIGHTING for Film and Television -- our flagship program.  A 6-hour, deeply immersive look into cinematic lighting, with parodies of programs such as Mythbusters, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and What Not to Wear.  We cover common mistakes, hard and soft light, using shadows, proper exposure and exposure tools, lighting technique, creating a mood with light, all built around meeting the ARTISTIC GOALS of your film/video project.  We then talk about all of the lighting and grip gear, have an interview with Levie Isaacks, A.S.C, and more.  And then, we showcase the two short films we made specifically for this set, and sit down with the cinematographer and director in an hour-long, behind-the-scenes featurette breaking down everything that was done to light the films, and we show our lighting lessons as applied to in real-world film production settings -- with the results to show for it!  (The short films are viewable in their entirety at the link.)   $699.50

• SOUND for Film and Television -- very similar to LIGHTING, this a 2.5-hour program on recording production sound.  Like LIGHTING, we break down all of the information in succinct, funny, and entertaining ways, including cinematic sketches parodying movies like The Paper Chase, An Officer and a Gentleman, Men in Black, and more.  Again, we cover avoiding the most common mistakes, the most simple techniques to get the best audio, microphones and gear, boom handling, audio kit accessories, location sound management, the basics of an audio edit, and more.  $299.50

• 24p & Frame Rates -- beginning with a film noir-style parody sketch, this 75-minute program explores frame rates -- what they are, why they affect the look and feel of moving pictures, and how to choose the rate most appropriate for your project.  Everyone wants to shoot 24p, but it can be tricky and confusing, so we teach proper camera techniques, demystify things like 2:3 pulldown, and teach how to edit and export 24p material.  $149.50

SOC (Susan) ----  Media Education Foundation.

(**LICENSED & HOSTED ON KANOPY**) 

• Class Dismissed: http://shsu.kanopystreaming.com/node/41531 -- 3 year subscription 
  $280.00 for 3 year streaming rights (20% discount because SHSU already owns DVD/VHS copy of film)
• Tough Guise http://shsu.kanopystreaming.com/node/41587 -- 3 year subscription 
  $280.00 for 3 year streaming rights (20% discount because SHSU already owns DVD/VHS copy of film)

 

SOC (Susan) ----  New Day Films. http://www.newdaydigital.com/Girl-Trouble.html

$399.00 for 5 year streaming rights (Education/Non-Profit) 

Girl Trouble 

Stephanie is pregnant and has a warrant for running away from a group home. Shangra is torn between taking care of her mother, who is homeless and struggling with drug addiction, and taking care of herself. Sheila, whose father and siblings have been in and out of jail, risks arrest and jail time by selling and using drugs.

Girl Trouble is an intimate look at the compelling personal stories of three teenagers entangled in San Francisco's juvenile justice system. These girls, and many like them, aren't just at-risk, they are in deep trouble.
Trying to change their lives, the girls work part-time at the innovative Center for Young Women's Development, an organization run by young women who have faced similar challenges. As the girls confront seemingly impossible problems and pivotal decisions, the Center's 22-year-old director, Lateefah Simon, is often their only support and mentor.

 

AGR (Kat) & TEC (Cole)  ----  Kino Lorber. http://www.kinolorber.com/

http://www.kinolorberedu.com/film.php?id=1832​ Colleges or Universities - $499 DVD – DVD with Streaming

Seeds of Time

10,000 years ago the biggest revolution in human history occurred: we became agrarians. We ceased merely hunting and gathering and began to farm, breeding and domesticating plants that have resulted in the crops we eat today. But the genetic diversity of these domesticated crops, which were developed over millennium, is vanishing today. And the consequences of this loss could be dire. As the production of high yielding, uniform varieties has increased, diversity has declined. For example, in U.S. vegetable crops we now have less than seven percent of the diversity that existed just a century ago.  

We are confronted with the global pressures of feeding a growing population, in a time when staple crops face new threats from disease and changing climates. Crop diversity pioneer Cary Fowler travels the world, educating the public about the dire consequences of our inaction. Along with his team at The Global Crop Diversity Trust in Rome, Cary struggles to re-invent a global food system so that it can,in his words, "last forever". Cary aims to safeguard the last place that much of our diversity is left in tact: in the world's vulnerable gene banks. 

 

SOC (Susan)  ----  Flood Safety. http://floodsafety.com/index.htm​

http://floodsafety.com/media/ffa/contents_index.htm​ Educational License - $300  – DVD with Streaming

Flash Flood Alley

 “Flash Flood Alley” is the first documentary to chronicle one of Texas’ most important environmental issues: World-Class Flooding!

This one-hour movie follows the lives of five Texans who rebuild after the great Central Texas flood of 1998. Their stories unfold to show how much of Texas, and especially the rapidly growing corridor from Austin to San Antonio, is the most flash-flood prone area in all of North America. Tens of thousands live in harm’s way. For example, the New Braunfels area had hundreds of families devastated in 1998 and downstream communities like Cuero and Victoria were slammed with a 50-foot flood wave that overtopped houses with no warning. In the course of story, we cover more than a dozen catastrophic floods with an amazing collection of flood footage and photographs while explaining Texas’ flood history and ongoing predicament. The movie finishes with the repeat flood of 2002 and contains spectacular aerial footage of the spillway being overtopped at Canyon Dam as the river bears down on New Braunfels (and our flood victims) yet again!

This movie maintains a dramatic pace and is backed by a powerful soundtrack, memorable characters and awesome footage. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry and you’ll remember to throw an umbrella under the driver’s seat

 

AGR (Kat) ----  Symphony of the Soil Educational Collection. http://www.symphonyofthesoil.com

http://www.symphonyofthesoil.com/educational-collection/

LICENSE PRICING:
Grade School/High School/Community Colleges – Level 1 $200
Universities/Government/Non-Profit – Level 2 $300

• The Educational Collection Includes:
  • Symphony of the Soil – A documentary feature film that explores the complexity and mystery of soil. Filmed on four continents and sharing the voices of some of the world’s most esteemed soil scientists, farmers and activists, the film portrays soil as a protagonist of our planetary story. Using a captivating mix of art and science, the film shows that soil is a complex living organism, the foundation of life on earth. [TRT: 104 minutes]
• • Sonatas of the Soil: Volume I and Volume II DVDs – A collection of short films on select topics:

  Digital Streaming Rights
  Initial purchase of full collection is required. Additional purchase of streaming video access can be requested, and is offered with the following pricing structure: 

• 1 yr = $200

  3 yr = $500

  5 yr = $700

 

HIS (Erin) ----  Clarity Films. www.clarityfilms.org

www.clarityfilms.org/rosie/  Colleges or Universities - $295 DVD; $495 DVD & Digital Streaming Rights

• Used in classrooms for over 30 years the classic film THE LIFE AND TIMES OF ROSIE THE RIVETER has been recently remastered by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (the folks who bring you the Oscars). It is a great honor that they did this and we can now offer a beautiful new DVD version to you. In addition we have included much requested closed captions, as well as a comprehensive study guide book in PDF format.
  ABOUT THE FILM
  Domestic. Shop girl. Waitress. Cook. Those were the jobs for women in the 1930's - when they could get work. Suddenly the U.S. entry into World War II created an unprecedented demand for new workers. Notions of what was proper work for women changed overnight. Thousands of posters and billboards appeared calling on women to "Do the Job He Left Behind." Rosie the Riveter was born - the symbol of working women during World War II.

  After whirlwind training, women found themselves doing "men's work" and they did it so well that production levels rose despite the military call-up of millions of male workers. They discovered a new sense of pride and dignity in their work. Their earnings leapt upwards. Many joined unions and found substantial new benefits from labor representation. And for the first time in history, black women gained entry into major industrial plants.  When the war was over, Rosie wanted to stay. But neither the structure of the American economy nor the dominant view of women's place in society sustained such hopes.

  The story is told by the women themselves - five former "Rosies" who movingly recall their histories working in Detroit, Los Angeles, New York and San Francisco during the war. Their testimony is interwoven with rare archival recruitment films, stills, posters, ads and music from the period which contrast their experiences with the popular legend and mythology of Rosie the Riveter.

  Digital Streaming Rights
  A Clarity Films Digital Site/Local Streaming License grants a purchasing institution (the Licensee) the rights to encode digital streaming files in any file format from any DVD already purchased from Clarity Films (or purchased at the same time as the license). Digital encoding may be done for a period of up to 3 years from the time of licensing but the resulting file may be streamed for the life of the file. Licensees may deliver the contents of these files via password-protected digital streaming only to registered students, accredited researchers, faculty and staff of that institution. Files may be used for in-class instruction, inclusion in course management software, library research, extracurricular activities, distance learning programs, public performances (provided admission is not charged) and any other activity directly administered by the licensing campus.  
  Licensees may not telecast, cablecast or deliver from any website open to the public any content licensed under this agreement nor may they lend, rent or donate any of the licensed content to another organization or campus for use in activities.