Research Guides: HIST 5385: Latin American History: Find Books & Articles

This guide provides a starting point for finding books, articles, primary sources, websites, and more on topics related to Latin American history with a high focus on Mexico and Mexican history. This guide is not comprehensive.

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Books of Interest

Reference Books

Research the Collection

An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges.

Latin American History is F1201-F3799

This includes F1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America, F1201-1392 Mexico, and F1401-1419 Latin America (General).

To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."

You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.

If you have too many results, take out some of the subject terms. Such as "OR nineteenth century" or "OR 1800s OR 1800's". This will take out some of the options which will help to narrow the results.

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND Prominent Figures AND 19th century OR nineteenth century OR 1800s OR 1800's

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND Prominent Figures AND 20th century OR twentieth century OR 1900s OR 1900's

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND Politics OR Political Figures AND 19th century OR nineteenth century OR 1800s OR 1800's

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND Politics OR Political Figures AND 20th century OR twentieth century OR 1900s OR 1900's

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND 19th century OR nineteenth century OR 1800s OR 1800's AND Religion

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND 20th century OR twentieth century OR 1900s OR 1900's AND Religion

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND 19th century OR nineteenth century OR 1800s OR 1800's AND Change OR Social Change OR Society

Mexico OR Mexican AND History AND 20th century OR twentieth century OR 1900s OR 1900's AND Change OR Social Change OR Society

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window U.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Local, state, and international journals (mostly English-language). Links out to many full-text articles from other databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series I This link opens in a new window U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, all 50 states, circa 1610-2006. Periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more in full text.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series II: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window Provided by the Department of Foreign Languages. Focuses on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains hundreds of rare books, over 3,000 newspaper issues (including rare anarchist newspapers), and over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscripts. Content is mostly Spanish, some English.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including both Spanish-language papers and papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
A to Z World Culture This link opens in a new window Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
A to Z World Food This link opens in a new window With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, A to Z World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window Critically acclaimed documentaries covering human history from the earliest civilizations to the late 20th century. Global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.