Research Guides: LSSL 5361-Representation and Inclusion in Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults: Find Books

Library Science Librarian

Misty Schattle

Email Me

Contact:

936-294-4686

Explore the Juvenile Lit Collection at SHSU!

Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection LibGuide

Course Textbooks

Multicultural Literature and Response by Lynn Atkinson Smolen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598844740
Publication Date: 2010-12-22
This compelling book emphasizes the critical role of quality multicultural literature and reader response in today's schools and libraries. All students need access to books in which they can see themselves--not just their physical appearance, but their culture and language, as well. Multicultural Literature and Response: Affirming Diverse Voices was written to help teachers and librarians find and use the best multicultural books in the service of reading comprehension and more. Underscoring the necessity of selecting quality literature that authentically, sensitively, and accurately portrays different groups, the book defines multicultural literature and provides a strong argument for its importance in schools and libraries. Expert contributors guide users to multicultural authors and illustrators who portrays U.S. ethnic and cultural groups, and they suggest ways to integrate this literature with writing, fluency development, storytelling, and audiovisuals. Extensive lists of books and websites that feature multicultural literature, as well as of authors, illustrators, and publishers of multicultural literature, make it easy to include such works in programs across the curriculum.
Diversity in Youth Literature by Sarah Park (Editor); Jamie Campbell Naidoo (Editor)
ISBN: 9780838911433
Publication Date: 2013-05-03
Surveying the landscape of children's and YA literature, this contributed volume shows how books have grown to include the wide range of our increasingly diverse society. Identifying both exemplary and problematic titles, the contributors Provide context by sketching out the historical trajectory of diversity in youth lit Organize titles into sections that range from familiar themes (African American, Asian, Latino) to the lesser known (such as literature dealing with incarceration, transnational adoption, and homelessness) Offer guidelines for evaluating and selecting the best in diversity literature Suggest youth-tested programs and strategies to promote multicultural books in the library and classroom This thoughtful and timely book helps meet the informational, recreational, and cultural needs of today's youth and those who serve them.

Finding Books

Books

Use the online catalog to find general surveys of and introductions to the topic of media for children and young adults in books. Search by using keywords (word or phrase) such as children’s literature, young adult literature, books and reading for children.

Some of these books will also present a detailed introduction to media for children and young adults along with discussion of various genre within the literature, such as picture books, folk tales, biography, films.

Use title or author search when looking for a specific item, such as checking to find out if the Library has a copy of Little House on the Prairie, or what books by Walter Dean Myers are available.

Book Lists and Award Books

Award-winning books for children and young adults are located in the children/young adult literature collection on the third floor in the library. All books in this collection have a call number beginning with LS. (Note: this LS designation is different from the books on fourth floor which have call numbers beginning with L.)

Search the library catalog for award books by title or author in the same way that you would search for other books.

Examples of websites that provide lists of award-winning books for children and young adults can be found on the Awards, Reading Lists, and Websites tab. Other state library associations may have their own awards as well.

MackinVia
MackinVIA provides easy access to eBooks, audiobooks, educational databases, and videos for K-12 students and teachers. Use MackinVIA on any desktop, laptop, or mobile device with Internet access; content can be embedded into Blackboard or other LMS.

Search the Library Catalog

Book Selection Tools

NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is a database of book recommendations for all library workers who do readers' advisory. NoveList’s unique story elements like appeal, genre, and theme help you understand what about a book your readers love, and help them find more that are their style.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The Interlibrary Services Office serves to connect library patrons to more information in more ways.

Borrow books, articles, music, and other materials from other libraries for an SHSU patron to use.
Deliver SHSU library materials digitally or physically to students, based on need.

Learn more about ILL here.