Research Guides: ENGL 5310: Gothic Drama of the Romantic Era: Home

ENGL 5310 Resources Guide

Welcome! This guide is intended to provide supplementary resources and research materials for your course. Resources, including books, articles, and databases, are divided according to your working group topics. You can also find general Gothic Drama and Romanticism resources on this page. Overall literature studies resources, as well as search tips, are located on the Literature and Literary Criticism Research Guide.

Use the tabs on the left to see recommended resources related to your group topics.

Note: Books listed on this guide that include a call number underneath the title are in print at the library. Otherwise, books are linked ebooks that can be read online or downloaded onto a device for a limited amount of time. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your SHSU credentials. Many ebooks are single-user, which means only one person can read and/or checkout the book at time, so if you are unable to log on to an ebook, check with your classmates to make sure it's not in use.

All English Databases

Recommended Databases:

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides over a million citations for items from thousands of journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

Primary Source Databases:

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window Citations for millions of books, official publications, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Links out to full text when available (including many items in British Periodicals).
British Periodicals I & II This link opens in a new window British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are: - Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange - British Politics and Society - British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Eighteenth (18th) Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
Burney Collection: 17th- & 18th-Century Newspapers & More This link opens in a new window Early English newspapers, pamphlets, and books, 17th and 18th centuries.
JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of pamphlets (mostly 19th century, but with some extension into the 17th and 18th centuries), primarily produced in Britain, but pertaining to many countries and peoples.

Journals:

PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
Studies in Romanticism Studies in Romanticism is the flagship journal of Romantic literary studies. Since its founding in 1961, SiR has been committed to advancing the study of literature and culture in the dynamic "Romantic Century" of 1750-1850. International in sympathies and interdisciplinary in approaches, SiR publishes the highest caliber scholarship on British, Anglophone, and European Romantic-era studies from diverse methodological perspectives.
Nineteenth-century Literature
Romanticism Romanticism is the journal of Romantic culture and criticism. The only major international scholarly publication of its kind edited and published in Britain, Romanticism offers a much-needed forum for the flourishing diversity of Romantic studies today. Focusing on the period 1750-1850, it publishes critical, historical, textual and bibliographical essays and notes prepared to the highest scholarly standards, reflecting the full range of current methodological and theoretical debate. With its extensive book review section, Romanticism constitutes a vital new arena for scholarly debate in this liveliest field of literary studies.
Nineteenth Century Theatre
Nineteenth Century Theatre and Film
Gothic Studies

Romanticism and Theatrical Experience by Jonathan Mulrooney
ISBN: 9781107183872
Publication Date: 2019-01-10
Bringing together studies in theater history, print culture, and literature, this book offers a new consideration of Romantic-period writing in Britain. Recovering a wide range of theatrical criticism from newspapers and periodicals, some of it overlooked since its original publication in Regency London, Jonathan Mulrooney explores new contexts for the work of the actor Edmund Kean, essayist William Hazlitt, and poet John Keats. Kean's ongoing presence as a figure in the theatrical news presented readers with a provocative re-imagining of personal subjectivity and a reworking of the British theatrical tradition. Hazlitt and Keats, in turn, imagined the essayist and the poet along similar theatrical lines, reframing Romantic prose and poetics. Taken together, these case studies illustrate not only theater's significance to early nineteenth-century Londoners, but also the importance of theater's textual legacies for our own re-assessment of 'Romanticism' as a historical and cultural phenomenon.
Gothic Literature by Andrew Smith
ISBN: 9780748647422
Publication Date: 2013-03-31
New edition of bestselling introductory text outlining the history and ways of reading Gothic literatureThis revised edition includes:* A new chapter on Contemporary Gothic which explores the Gothic of the early twentieth century and looks at new critical developments* An updated Bibliography of critical sources and a revised ChronologyThe book opens with a Chronology and an Introduction to the principal texts and key critical terms, followed by five chapters: The Gothic Heyday 1760-1820; Gothic 1820-1865; Gothic Proximities 1865-1900; Twentieth Century; and Contemporary Gothic. The discussion examines how the Gothic has developed in different national contexts and in different forms, including novels, novellas, poems, films, radio and television. Each chapter concludes with a close reading of a specific text - Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Dracula, The Silence of the Lambs and The Historian - to illustrate ways in which contextual discussion informs critical analysis. The book ends with a Conclusion out
A Research Guide to Gothic Literature in English by Sherri L. Brown; Carol Senf; Ellen J. Stockstill
ISBN: 9781442277472
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
The Gothic began as a designation for barbarian tribes, was associated with the cathedrals of the High Middle Ages, was used to describe a marginalized literature in the late eighteenth century, and continues today in a variety of forms (literature, film, graphic novel, video games, and other narrative and artistic forms). Unlike other recent books in the field that focus on certain aspects of the Gothic, this work directs researchers to seminal and significant resources on all of its aspects. Annotations will help researchers determine what materials best suit their needs. A Research Guide to Gothic Literature in English covers Gothic cultural artifacts such as literature, film, graphic novels, and videogames. This authoritative guide equips researchers with valuable recent information about noteworthy resources that they can use to study the Gothic effectively and thoroughly.
Romanticism by Carmen Casaliggi; Porscha Fermanis The Romantic period coincided with revolutionary transformations of traditional political and human rights discourses, as well as witnessing rapid advances in technology and a primitivist return to nature. As a broad global movement, Romanticism strongly impacted on the literature and arts of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries in ways that are still being debated and negotiated today. Examining the poetry, fiction, non-fiction, drama, and the arts of the period, this book considers: Important propositions and landmark ideas in the Romantic period; Key debates and critical approaches to Romantic studies; New and revisionary approaches to Romantic literature and art; The ways in which Romantic writing interacts with broader trends in history, politics, and aesthetics; European and Global Romanticism; The legacies of Romanticism in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Containing useful, reader-friendly features such as explanatory case studies, chapter summaries, and suggestions for further reading, this clear and engaging book is an invaluable resource for anyone who intends to study and research the complexity and diversity of the Romantic period, as well as the historical conditions which produced it.
ISBN: 9780415679077
Publication Date: 2016-05-10

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window Complete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.
Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window Comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.

ENGL 5310: Gothic Drama of the Romantic Era

Subject Terms

Librarian

ENGL 5310 Resources Guide

General Resources