Skip to Main Content
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Call Number: REF GT31 .G74 2004
This is a great place to start your research. This covers multiple time periods and countries. It is a REFERENCE book and on the 3rd floor.
The six volumes cover the following time periods: ancient world through the Roman Empire in 400 C.E., 400 to 1400 C.E., 15th and 16th centuries, 17th and 18th centuries, 19th century, 20th century.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
Call Number: REF E169.1 .G7553 2009
The four volumes cover the following periods: The War of Independence and Antebellum Expansion and Reform, 1763-1861, The Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Industrialization of America, 1861-1900, The Emergence of Modern America, World War I, and the Great Depression, 1900-1940 and Wartime, Postwar, and Contemporary America, 1940-Present.
This is a REFERENCE book on the 3rd floor.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present by Amy T. Peterson (Editor); Ann T. Kellogg (Editor); José Blanco F.; Valerie Hewitt; Scott Leff; Lynn W. Payne; Heather Vaughan
Call Number: GT615 .G74 2008 V.1
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History-Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides two levels of information: descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and, as important, why they wore those types of clothes. With volume one covering 1900-1949 and volume two covering 1950 to the present, the first half of each volume provides four chapters that each examine the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on fashion.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
These authoritative guides combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia in these 14 subject areas: American Literature; Art History; Atlantic History; British and Irish Literature; Childhood Studies; Cinema & Media Studies; Criminology; Education; Medieval Studies; Military History; Music; Psychology; Sociology; Victorian Literature.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.