Skip to main content

Government Document Essential Sources and Databases

The Basic Collection

Government Documents:  Basic Collection

This list, provided by the Federal Depository Library Program, contains vital sources of

information on the activities and workings of the Federal Government.   In Newton Gresham

Library, they are located on various floors and appear as paper, microfiche, or online titles. The

list is subject to change as the program changes, but is considered the basic foundation for

research in the collection. Find links to the most current information below:


American Factfinder    (Census, Online Only) 2009 

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government   (Online Only)

Budget of the United States  1996-Current

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance  2008-Current

Catalog of Government Publications   (Online Only)

Code of Federal Regulations  1996-Current

Congressional Directory  1997-Current

Congressional Record Daily  1994-Current

Congressional Record (Bound Edition)  1873-Current

Constitution of the United States  Current

Compilation of Presidential Documents  1993-Current

Economic Indicators  1995-Current

Economic Report of the President  1995-Current

Federal Digital System: FDSYS  (Online Only)

Federal Register Daily  1970-Current

Occupational Outlook Handbook  (Online Only) Current

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States  1991-2012

Social Security Handbook  Current

United States Code  1994-Current

United States Government Manual  1994-Current

United States Reports  1987-Current (2011)

United States Statutes at Large  1951-Current(2011)



The Government Publications Office has many copies of documents with

easy online access.(FDSYS)  Digitizing these documents is a work in progress. 

Some older items may not be available yet BROWSE ALL  







Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System