JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowU.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Local, state, and international journals (mostly English-language). Links out to many full-text articles from other databases.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)This link opens in a new windowCombined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.
SHSU Databases: Historical News, Periodicals, Etc.
Every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015, including full-color images, multiple search indexes, and browsing facilities. Timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news, including political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Simultaneously search the Library's subscriptions to the historical archives of the Austin-American Statesman, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2014This link opens in a new window"World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, from 1785 to 2014.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowSearch current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013This link opens in a new windowProvides access to unfiltered press dispatches from around the world, methodically translated into English by the US Government, for the entire history of the World News Connection (Nov 1995 Dec 31, 2013)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994This link opens in a new windowReports, documents, journals of U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1994. Every publication, over 415,000 documents, from 15th - 103rd Congresses.
Sample Subject Headings for Searching the SHSU Library Catalog
United States Economic conditions
Economic forecasting United States
Depressions United States
Recessions United States
Taxation United States
Many relevant books will be located on the 4th floor in the call numbers beginning with HC, which is the section designated for Economic history and conditions.
Search for books and other items in the library catalog.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)This link opens in a new windowThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowSource for quantitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.
International Historical StatisticsThis link opens in a new windowStatistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania, collected between 1750-2010. Conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.
Polling the NationsThis link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries. Access more than 750,000 original poll questions and results from 18,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 100+ other countries from 1986 to the present.
Contains data from about 150 users, mostly senior management of Enron, organized into folders, a total of about 0.5M messages originally made public, and posted to the web, by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation. (William W. Cohen, Carnegie Mellon University)
FRASER is a digital library dedicated to preserving the nation's economic history. It provides archival documents related to the Federal Reserve System, ranging from approximately 1790 to 2010. (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Collection of original papers from German philosopher & economist Karl Marx (1818-1883) and German social scientist Friedrich Engels (1820-1895). These are considered some of the most influential pieces of writing in world history, which still play a major role in the rethinking of capitalism, labour, economic crises and revolution. (International Institute of Social History)
(In German) Publications, manuscripts and correspondence of Marx and Engels: all texts of Marx's main economic work, including previously unpublished manuscripts; 1866 letters from and to Marx and Engels; excerpts and notes. (Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities)
The Occupy Movement was one of the first massive demonstrations to join online advocacy with in-person protests. Culminating in hundreds of encampments and marches worldwide against income inequality, the movement also promoted causes for justice and reform that continue to influence present-day demonstrations for societal change. This free-to-access open-source digital archive preserves more than 1,200 pages of documentation and offers access to more than 400 digitized materials that help bring to life the movement's massive scale, grassroots flavor and enduring impact.(Case Western Reserve University).
Materials documenting the history of American taxation. Includes a 1040 archive (1913-2006), Presidential tax returns, some of the Federalist papers discussing federal revenue and taxing powers, and more. (Tax Analysts non-profit group)