College of Health Sciences - Open & Free Materials by Course: Nursing

Prepares nurses to develop interventions, policies, and practices that promote health equity and improved health outcomes across the health care delivery continuum. Emphasizes the social determinants of health and how nurses can plan and implement health promotion and disease prevention interventions.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

Provides an overview of population health concepts along with health promotion strategies utilized by advanced practice nurses. Resources are intended to be exemplary, but not exhaustive and introduce the reader to strategies that can be practiced while in graduate school as well as in healthcare settings.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Covers health histories as well as neurological, eye/ear, cardiovascular, respiratory, abdominal, musculoskeletal, and integumentary assessment, and more.

• Open License: CC-BY

Designed for the novice learner seeking to develop a foundational understanding of the complete subjective health assessment in the context of health and illness. Deconstructs the categories of the complete subjective health assessment, providing learners with explanations and examples of what constitutes relevant subjective data. Provides an opportunity to learn how to respond to normal, abnormal, and critical findings when completing a complete subjective health assessment.

• Open License: CC-BY-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Intended for nursing students in an introductory program. Provides a fundamental understanding of the therapeutic use of drugs. Helps students prepare for the licensing exam, focuses on common client conditions that nurses will encounter throughout their career, and embraces a skills orientation (what does a nurse do).

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

Introduces the principles of pharmacology, including drug classifications and their effects on the body. Emphasis is on the use of the components of the nursing process when administering medications.

• Open License: CC-BY

This open textbook is designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. From developing a research question to locating and evaluating sources to writing a sample literature review using appropriate publication guidelines, readers will be guided through the process. This book has been peer-reviewed by 7 subject experts and is now available for adoption and use in courses or as a library resource.

• Open License: CC-BY

Designed for practicing nurses pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. This book is focused on building upon previous knowledge, skills and attitudes Registered Nurses (RNs) related to leadership in healthcare systems. Readers will be able to apply the theoretical knowledge gained from this course in their clinical practice environment.

• Open License: CC-BY

Applies theories of nursing in the care of clients through the life span, utilizing problem-solving and critical thinking while studying common conditions affecting different body systems. Evidence-based nursing interventions are discussed while applying the nursing process. Concepts of leadership and management are also introduced. Interactive learning activities are provided in each chapter, including NCLEX Next Generation-style case studies and questions. Brief video overviews of each condition are provided in each chapter.

• Open License: CC-BY

provides 15 complete simulation scenarios in a template format for the following populations: pediatric, women, and adult. Also included in this text are how to conduct pre-briefing and debriefing sessions, faculty planning for pre- and postsimulation, faculty and student evaluation tools, and incorporating simulated patient actors (SPAs). It is the intent of the authors that those using this text will be able to incorporate the simulation scenarios and other content into their NP programs to help students meet learning objectives and practice clinical and communication skills using a variety of patient situations.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-ND

Encompasses a broad range of patient-care situations, from managing chronic conditions to providing postoperative care. The material includes concise explanations to facilitate understanding, as well as rich reviews of pathophysiology, ensuring students grasp essential concepts without becoming overwhelmed. Beyond theoretical knowledge, the text emphasizes the development of practical skills and competencies, and incorporates evidence-based best practices.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

This text addresses mental health nursing care. The book opens with a foundational module, that provides a brief history of mental health treatment, pertinent theorists, and the underpinning concepts of mental health versus mental illness, followed by a separate chapter on psychopharmacology. The heart of the text is arranged into the most common mental health diagnoses.

Covers topics related to the delivery of community and mental health care. Specific health needs of individuals, families, and groups will be addressed across the lifespan. Attention will be given to diverse and at-risk populations. Mental health concepts will concentrate on adaptive/maladaptive behaviors and specific mental health disorders. Community resources will be examined in relation to specific types of support offered to racial, ethnic, economically diverse individuals and groups.

• Open License: CC-BY

Designed to support a one-semester psychiatric-mental health nursing course offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Serving students specializing in psychiatric nursing and those from other health disciplines, this learning resource integrates evidence-based practices with practical strategies for communication, readying students to build therapeutic relationships with patients and caregivers. By focusing on tailored psychiatric interventions and emphasizing patient-centered approaches, equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to navigate diverse mental health settings.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

Focuses on basic nursing concepts to provide evidence-based care to diverse patient populations across the lifespan. Current and historical issues impacting nursing will be explored within the scope of nursing practice. The nursing process will be introduced as a framework for organizing the care of patients.

• Open License: CC-BY

Aligns with the outcomes and competencies of a nursing fundamentals course. Emphasize the application of clinical judgment across diverse healthcare environments, ensuring readiness to deliver high-quality, compassionate care in an inclusive and supportive manner.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

This workbook was established with nurse educators and nursing students in mind to provide knowledge, guidance, and support for integrating social determinants of health (SDOH) across the nursing education spectrum. Contents from this workbook are applicable to pre-licensure baccalaureate nursing programs, RN-to-BSN programs, and graduate education. The book includes a general information section, pedagogical tools and discussion, case studies, and a facilitator guide (for accompanying the case studies).

Covers nursing management and professional issues related to the role of the registered nurse. Emphasis is placed on preparing for practice as a registered nurse.

• Open License: CC-BY

Designed for practicing nurses pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. This book is focused on building upon previous knowledge, skills and attitudes Registered Nurses (RNs) related to leadership in healthcare systems. Readers will be able to apply the theoretical knowledge gained from this course in their clinical practice environment.

• Open License: CC-BY

introduces students to the concepts and skills related to pregnancy, birth, postpartum, newborn care, reproductive health, and social determinants related to those topics. Written and thoroughly reviewed by experienced nurse educators, the material focuses on patient safety, mental health, and inclusive care, and offers robust real-world scenarios and situational patient education experiences to apply concepts to practice. Students will be able to implement the Clinical Judgement Measurement Model to recognize, analyze, prioritize, create, act on, and evaluate outcomes throughout the many conditions presented across the life stages. The offering integrates core frameworks such as QSEN, and its robust sets of practice questions, unfolding case studies, and additional resources support the Next Generation NCLEX.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

designed to equip nursing students with the practical knowledge and hands-on skills necessary to provide comprehensive patient care. The material emphasizes the application of clinical judgment in a variety of settings, ensuring that students are prepared to deliver high-quality care across different patient populations and clinical scenarios. The content utilizes concepts promoting the development of clinical judgment by building upon the systematic model developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

Structured to support the flexible integration of nutrition content across both system-based and nursing competency-based curricula. Emphasizes evidence-based practice and holistic assessment to facilitate the integration of nutritional awareness for pre-licensure nursing students in the provision of client-centered care. Helps students develop sound clinical judgment as well as a deep understanding of the impact of nutrition on body systems across the lifespan.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY

"Created for undergraduate nursing students at the introductory level. Educators co-curated this OER in collaboration with students for students. This resource is a unique contribution to nursing education as content focuses on Anti-Black racism in the Canadian context."

• Open License: CC-BY-NC

Focuses on learning the components of medical terms, including prefixes, suffixes, and word roots, and also introduces students to diagnostic, therapeutic, surgical, and symptomatic terminology of all body systems.

• Open License: CC-BY

Focuses on breaking down, pronouncing, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students.

• Open License: CC-BY

The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country and explore the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. The goal of this text is to foster the necessary skills for nurses to provide compassionate care to individuals who are nearing the end of life and families who are experiencing the loss of a loved one.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

The checklist approach used in this textbook aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current.

• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.