Research Guides: HIST 4369: Civil War & Reconstruction: Civil War Resources in SHSU Special Collections

History Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Purpose

This guide is intended to help you begin researching the American Civil War and Reconstruction.

This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this subject or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.

<--- Use the menu on the left to view different sections of this guide.

Confederate Imprints Collection

Click to view a complete list of the Confederate Imprints held in SHSU Special Collections.

To search for this same list on your own, follow these steps:

1. Open up the "Books & Ebooks" tab on the SHSU Library Homepage.

2. Search for the term (all one word) "confederateimprint"-- you should get 271 titles.

Regimental Histories

Click to view a complete list of the Regimental Histories held at SHSU.

To search for this same list on your own, follow these steps:

1. Click on the "Books & Ebooks" tab on the SHSU Library Homepage.

2. Click on the Advanced Search option.

3. Search for "United States History Civil War, 1861-1865 Regimental histories" in the Subject tab.

Major Periodicals

Located in the Thomason Room on the 4th floor.

Confederate Veteran, v.1-40 (1893-1932)
Call Number: E482 .C74
Harper's Weekly, v.5-10 (1861-1866)
Call Number: AP2 .H32
Southern Historical Society Papers, v.1-52 (1876-1959)
Call Number: E483.7 .S76

Maps in the SHSU Special Collections

Contains a number of Civil War-era maps. Especially strong in maps depicting the South, including MS, AL, VA, SC, GA, AR, LA, TN, and FL.

Browse the Finding Aid to the Map Collection
Maps are not arranged in chronological order, so browse the titles and dates carefully.

Civil War Manuscript Collections

Sexton Papers
Contains correspondence, personal notes, business records, legal records, business notes, ephemera and newspaper clippings listed chronologically ranging from the mid-1800s to the mid-1900s.
John Warren Smith Papers
Focus is on Walker County before and after the Civil War, most specifically on Cincinnati, a ghost town on the Trinity River.
Goree Family Papers
Papers consists of documents, correspondence, articles, and photographs concerning the Goree family of Walker County, Texas. The majority of the collection is the original correspondence of Thomas Jewett Goree who served as aide to General James Longstreet during the Civil War. Also, includes the correspondence of Eliza T. Nolley and E.K. Goree (among other resources). Eliza Thomas Nolley was an early settler of Walker County and was one of the first teachers at Andrews Female College.
Elizabeth Smith McAshan Memoir
(no date; one legal folder) An unbound 71 page account of the life and times of Elizabeth Smith McAshan. The memoir contains information and perspective on the South at the end of the civil war.