Research Guides: Cold War Research Guide: Find Books & Articles

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Books and Research

The Encyclopedia of the Cold War by John S. D. Eisenhower (Foreword by); Priscilla Roberts (Contribution by); Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851097012
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
A comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War. Also includes over 175 original documents--a collection that draws heavily on recently opened files from archives in China, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union--plus more than 470 images and illustrations and 47 maps.

An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges.

D839 - D860 - Post-war history (1945- )

E183.7 - E183.9 - United States, Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations.

DK293 - History of Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics, 1991-

To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Subject headings allow you to find books according to broader and narrower topics.

Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."

You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.

Once you know some subject headings, you can also just use them as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.

Databases for Secondary Source Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."

Quick Searches