Research Guides: History of Mexican Art: Analysis, Biographies, and History

Databases

These databases cover a variety of topics, including Art. Read more about what they have to offer in their descriptions to determine if they will be right for you.

If you need assistance searching the databases or further help determining what to use, please contact either Michelle Hoogterp (hoogbrarian@shsu.edu) the Art Librarian, or reach out to the Library Services Desk.

Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new window
Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
International coverage of journals, books, and more, covering a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."

Bibliographies

This guide to Bibliography Research will tell you how & why bibliographies are useful, as well as how to locate them and understand their contents.

Bibliography Research
by Hannah Menendez Last Updated Dec 11, 2023 4336 views this year

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art
The Getty provides free access to these citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.

This is a citation tool--you will still need to locate the full-text item.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
These authoritative guides combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia in these 14 subject areas: American Literature; Art History; Atlantic History; British and Irish Literature; Childhood Studies; Cinema & Media Studies; Criminology; Education; Medieval Studies; Military History; Music; Psychology; Sociology; Victorian Literature.

Books

You can search for your preferred artist by SUBJECT. This will find you books by or about them. If there's nothing, try a keyword search: sometimes there are books in which the subject you're looking for has a chapter/mention somewhere.

If you're still stuck, please contact your librarian!

Below are some examples of biographies and scholarly analysis.

Diego Rivera
Call Number: ND259 .R5 A84 2011
Radical Women
Call Number: NX180 .P64 R35 2017
Gods and Symbols of Ancient Mexico and the Maya
Call Number: REFERENCE: F1219.3.R38 M64 1993
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists
Call Number: REFERENCE: N6538.H58 S7 2002