Subject bibliographies will list primary sources, secondary sources, or both primary and secondary sources relevant to the study and research of a specific topic or event. Subject bibliographies are probably the most common type of enumerative bibliography, and finding a subject bibliography on your topic can save you lots of time in your research.
United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990 by
Often ignored in bibliographies and indexes, U.S. government documents provide a rich resource for understanding the status of American women. Huls' two-volume bibliography provides easy subject access to some 7,000 documents on social and employment issues, spanning nearly two centuries. Annotated entries covering published reports of Congress, agencies, councils, and commissions are arranged chronologically within topical chapters. Volume II: Labor covers issues related to women in paid employment, including protective labor legislation, affirmative action, federal employment and training programs, vocational counseling, and day care. It lists over 3,000 documents. Each volume includes a detailed subject index.
American Travellers Abroad: A Bibliography of Accounts Published before 1900 by
It wasn't just the finishing trip performed by wealthy American men and women, but also the activity of numerous other Americans of many different races, classes, and occupations: the journey outside the United States to destinations in Britain, Italy, France, Germany and other countries throughout the world. Included are familiar authors and famous works by such authors as Mark Twain and Henry James, as well as the less well-known travel books that serve as a companion to America's memory. American Travellers Abroad is a bibliography of travel literature published before 1900. Upon publication of the first edition in 1969, it showcased the importance of travel upon the notion of "national identity," and the impact of travel literature upon writing in America. This current edition is a significant expansion of that important first edition, and represents over 2000 titles, many discovered in the years since its original publication. The book is organized alphabetically by author, and provides full bibliographic information about each title. The annotations summarize each title concisely and note significant features. An author index is organized by occupation and by the country visited. This unique tool assists the researcher, teacher, or historian who needs to find and become familiar with the wide breadth of travel literature, whose importance has only begun to gain academic and popular attention in recent years. This updated classic will be a valuable addition to all libraries.
Bibliographie des Selbstmords by
This bibliography on the literature of suicide considered the subject from many points of view including philosophical, medical, psychological, religious, literary, and artistic, as well as topics like family suicide, mass suicide and euthanasia, from the 15th to 20th centuries. The bibliography listed about 4000 works in thematic chapters, to each of which Rost wrote an introduction. The book included 54 illustrations, which may have represented the first published collection of historical images on suicide.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System