Skip to Main Content
Special Collections Librarian
East Texas Digital Collections
The History Center at Diboll
The History Center at Diboll has great online collections and has a lot of material documenting the history of transportation and the history of forestry in east Texas.
East Texas Digital Archives & Collections
The East Texas Digital Archives & Collections is the online digital repository for the East Texas History Center at Stephen F. Austin University. There are many collections that might be of interest, including extensive cemetery records.
UNT Digital Library
The University of North Texas has a huge amount of digitized material available online, including many small newspapers and periodicals from all around Texas. Use the advanced search option and see what you can find about your topic.
Texas State Library and Archives
Though a Texas state resource, by searching for local topics you might find resources specific to your topic.
Texas Archive of the Moving Image
Also an archive of Texas as a state, a search for local topics might produce results. This is a visual moving image archive.
Texas Genealogy by County
This website is extensive, and some parts are not very current. However, it contains information for each of the counties including all counties in the eastern Texas region.
Tyrrell Historical Library Digital Collections -- Beaumont
These digital collections document the history of the Beaumont area and southeast Texas.
East Texas Genealogical Society
This is a group of links and some information about how to research genealogy in east Texas counties.
Museums and Historical Societies
Museum for East Texas Culture
"The marvelous old Palestine High School is now the depository for the historical treasures of Palestine and Anderson County. We are indeed “The Keeper of our History.” This site is about the museum and does not contain digitized collections.
Rusk County Depot Museum
With information about Rusk County and Henderson, Texas, this local history museum site has some great information.
San Jacinto Museum
Based at the San Jacinto Monument, this museum is all about the battle of San Jacinto.