Research Guides: BIOL 4361: Evolutionary Biology: Biology Databases

Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1119
shjohnson@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223K

General Biology Databases

The following databases provide electronic access to journal articles in Biology, its subdisciplines and associated science topics.

Biological Abstracts (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Provides electronic access to journals in all science disciplines, including Biology, Biochemistry, Agriculture, Genetics, Molecular Biology and Environmental Science, with many full text articles.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of todays most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
NOTE: Click More below for mobile instruction.
Mobile instruction:
- On your FIRST USE, connect to BioOne Mobile on the SHSU wireless network to automatically pair your device with SHSU's subscription.
- OR, IF NOT ON CAMPUS, follow these steps:
  - FIRST access BioOne from a desktop/laptop computer.
  - Open https://www.bioone.org/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin and obtain a pairing code.
  - On mobile device, go to bioone.org, click Settings, choose Device Pairing, and enter your code. Pairing must be done every 90 days.
Annual Reviews Science Collection This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."

Other Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.

BIOL 4361: Evolutionary Biology

Librarian

General Biology Databases

Other Databases

Google Scholar