Research Guides: Digital History: Find Datasets

Dataset Collections

These are a few places where you can find raw DATA to use (perhaps by feeding it into some of the Digital Tools listed in this guide!), as opposed to articles or websites which share interpretations of data. This list is NOT intended to be comprehensive.

Some of these sites are public; others require an SHSU username and password to access.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.
Log in at the top right, select "Access through your Institution," and choose Sam Houston State University.

MEAD: Magazine of Early American Datasets
From site: "The Magazine of Early American Datasets (MEAD) is an online repository of datasets compiled by historians of early North America. MEAD preserves and makes available these datasets in their original format and as comma-separated-value files (.csv). Each body of data is also accompanied by a codebook. MEAD provides sweet, intoxicating data for your investigations of early North America and the Atlantic World." Sponsored by the McNeil Center of Early American Studies and the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for quantitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania, collected between 1750-2010. Conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.
Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of premier datasets and thousands of variables. Each dataset is structured identically and includes the raw data file, SPSS program statements, SAS program statement, SPSS data dictionary, SPSS frequencies, SPSS portable file, and a User's Guide.

World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Google Public Data Explorer
View details about the Public Data Explorer

Data Sets Online

These online datasets may be helpful or relevant to the study of Environmental and Geosciences. It is not meant to be a comprehensive list of all datasets available. Please contact the subject librarian for additional assistance.

"Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park" by National Park Service

Huntsville City Maps and Geographic Information System (GIS) Data
more...less...
This resource, prepared by the City of Huntsville, Texas, GIS division, provides a variety of GIS maps and reports on topics such as FEMA flood review, planning & development, property, and mapping control.
USGS National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
more...less...
The National Geologic Map Database contains over 88,000 maps, along with a lexicon of geologic names. The site also contains basic information and educational material about geologic maps.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
more...less...
Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.
NYU Spatial Data Repository
Note: Some datasets are freely available, others are proprietary to NYU users.
more...less...
"The Spatial Data Repository (SDR) is NYU's portal for previewing and discovering geospatial data. The collection includes resources from open data and proprietary resources, and users can download layers and work with them in many GIS platforms." (New York Univ Libraries, Data Services)
Texas Geographic Information System (GIS) Maps & Data
more...less...
This website from the Texas General Land Office provides a wide variety of downloaded GIS data sets related to the state. Maps and data are provided in the following subject areas: energy resources, professional services, oil spills and coastal response, and coastal management.