Skip to Main Content
Ask a Librarian
CALL 936-294-1614 or
New E-books for Distance Educators
To access ebooks, click on the book title and then select the blue "Online Content" button. If you are off campus, you will need to use your SHSU login information.
Web-Based and Blended Educational Tools and Innovations by
Publication Date: 2012-08-31
The call to integrate web-based and blended tools into the classroom forces educators and researchers to rethink their assumptions about teaching - and education in general. Although a considerable amount of exploration has occurred in this field, the breadth and scope for dialogue and experimentation must be broadened. This text contributes to the search for better teaching methods by exploring the technical, social, cultural, organizational, human, cognitive, and commercial impact of technology in education.
Supporting Online Students by
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Online Student Services and Support is a comprehensive review of all aspects of support services needed by online learners for successful experiences.
The Excellent Online Instructor by
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
The Excellent Online Instructor is a guide for new and seasoned faculty who teach online, those responsible for training and developing online instructors, and administrators who must evaluate online faculty performance. This comprehensive resource describes the qualities of and explains how one can become an excellent online instructor, including models based in adult learning principles and best practices.
Effective Online Teaching by
Publication Date: 2011-06-09
This book offers an understanding of how cognition and learning theory applies to an online learning environment. Through behaviorist, constructivist and cognitive approaches it provides strategies for incorporating this knowledge into effective learner-centered teaching practice. It is ideal for new instructors or those new to online teaching.
Managing Online Instructor Workload by
Publication Date: 2011-07-20
Managing Online Instructor Workload is a groundbreaking book that offers strategies, advice, illustrative examples, and a four-step process for identifying challenges and rethinking, prioritizing, managing, and balancing one's online instruction workload.
Distinctive Distance Learning Education Design by
Publication Date: 2010-07-31
"This book presents a tool to assist in the planning, conducting and evaluation of online learning, providing a way of understanding the course development and design process, drawing upon the research and theory foundations of distance education"--Provided by publisher.
Meta-Communication for Reflective Online Conversations by
Publication Date: 2011-07-31
Meta-Communication for Reflective Online Conversations: Models for Distance Educations discusses the potential of meta-communication models for building and managing reflective online conversations among distance learners. This book unites models for meta-communication, distance education, and reflective online conversations and can serve as a course supplement for studies in distance education, online education, reflective online education, and meta-communication.
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning by
Publication Date: 2009-01-31
"This multiple volume publication provides comprehensive knowledge and literature on the topic of distance learning programs"--Provided by publisher.
More E-books for Distance Educators
Techniques for Fostering Collaboration in Online Learning Communities by
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
Techniques for Fostering Collaboration in Online Learning Communities: Theoretical and Practical Perspectives provides a focused assessment of the peculiarities of online collaborative learning processes by looking at the strategies, methods, and techniques used to support and enhance debate and exchange among peers. Offering an extensive discussion of the design, management, monitoring, and evaluation of learning processes, this work reviews issues from both a theoretical and practical viewpoint and includes methodological contributions as well as perspectives on real experiences.
Distance Education Environments and Emerging Software Systems by
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
Distance Education Environments and Emerging Software Systems: New Technologies focuses on the discussions of computational methods, algorithms implemented prototype systems, and applications of open and distance learning. This reference is a primary forum for researchers and practitioners to disseminate practical solutions to the automation of open and distance learning.
Higher Education, Emerging Technologies, and Community Partnerships by
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
Higher Education, Emerging Technologies, and Community Partnerships: Concepts, Models, and Applications is a comprehensive collection of research with an emphasis on emerging technologies, community value, and corporate partnerships. The contributions in this collection provide strategies to implement partnerships. Outlining various concepts from an educational and technological standpoint, this reference book serves as a resource for academic administrators, instructors and community practitioners.
Handbook of Research on Hybrid Learning Models by
Publication Date: 2009-12-31
The Handbook of Research on Hybrid Learning Models: Advanced Tools, Technologies, and Applications collects emerging research and pedagogies related to the convergence of teaching and learning methods. This significant resource provides access to the latest knowledge related to hybrid learning, discovered and written by an international gathering of e-learning experts.
Most Current Research Articles on Distance Learning
Articles on Distance Learning