New content is added each year. Consult the resource itself for the most recent content available.
Every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015, including full-color images, multiple search indexes, and browsing facilities. Timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news, including political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.
CIA, State Department, Department of Defense & White House Files. 343 declassified documents dating from 1990-1997. Highlights the accomplishments of the Clinton Administration in brokering the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords, which resolved the 1992-1995 Bosnian War, and the role the Director of Central Intelligence Interagency Balkan Task Force (BTF) played in informing policymakers' decisions.
More than 700 images of Russia and the Caucasus region, particularly of rural areas in Georgia and Dagestan. Supplemented by photographer William O. Field's diaries, travel notes, and a selection of maps of the Caucasus region. (Univ. of Wisconsin Milwaukee)
"The Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii Collection features color photographic surveys of the vast Russian Empire made between ca. 1905 and 1915. Frequent subjects among the 2,607 distinct images include people, religious architecture, historic sites, industry and agriculture, public works construction, scenes along water and railway transportation routes, and views of villages and cities." (Library of Congress)
This is a collection of primary source documents that discuss the Soviet-Chinese relationship during the Cold War. Composed largely of cables, memos, and telegrams, this collection spans the 1930s through 1959, or the period prior to the split. (Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars)
Site in Russian. Soviet and Stalin-era documents from the Russian State Archive of Socio-Political History. Includes all the Politburo materials from the archives for 1919–1932, as well as every single document relating to Stalin’s life and work up until his death, including his correspondence with Roosevelt, Churchill and Molotov. Note: About 1/3 of content may be closed to public.
Original books, booklets, magazines, manuals, newspapers, and documents relating to WWII, from many sides of the conflict. Includes US, British, Polish, German, Czech, Italian, Japanese, and Russian documents.
"Contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe" in "the history of international relations and diplomacy," focusing on "the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation." (Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars)
Collection of far-flung documents, photographs, posters, and objects. Topics include the prelude to revolution, the Bolshevik rise to power, the fate of the royal family, peasant resistance to Bolshevik policies, Stalin's "revolution from above," the Great Terror, and women's liberation.
The Russian Provisional Government, 1917: Documents
Call Number: DK265.19.B7, vol. 1-3 - 4th floor
The Diary of Olga Romanov: Royal witness to the Russian Revolution : with excerpts from family letters and memoirs of the period
Call Number: DK254 .O46 A3 2014 - 4th floor
The first English translation of the wartime diaries of the eldest daughter of Nicholas II, the last Tsar of Russia, with additional documents of the period.
Russia in War and Revolution, 1914-1922: A Documentary History
Call Number: DK265 .A54155 2009 - 4th floor
Newly available Russian sources, many of which appear in English for the first time here. Broad array of topics, including the Bolshevik rise to power and World War I as the catalyst and cradle, respectively, of the Revolution.
Soviet Culture and Power: A history in documents, 1917-1953
Call Number: DK266.4 .C575 2007 - 4th floor
Documents include decisions of the Politburo, Stalin’s correspondence with individual intellectuals, his responses to particular plays, novels, and movie scripts, petitions to leaders from intellectuals, and secret police reports on intellectuals under surveillance.
Competing Voices from the Russian Revolution
Call Number: DK265 .A5165 2011 - 4th floor
The Fall of Tsarism: Untold Stories of the February 1917 Revolution
Call Number: DK265.69 .L93 2013 - 4th floor
Selection of interviews with leading participants in the February Revolution in Petrograd, sources that have been hidden for most of a century.
Millions of Russians lived as serfs until the middle of the nineteenth century. These accounts offer readers a glimpse, from the point of view of the serfs themselves, into the realities of one of the largest systems of unfree labor in history.
From Supplication to Revolution: A documentary social history of imperial Russia
Call Number: HN526 .F74 1988 - 4th floor
Collection of primary documents on the social history of Imperial Russia.
The Lost Politburo Transcripts: From collective rule to Stalin's dictatorship
Call Number: JN6598 .K7 L598 2008 - 4th floor
Transcripts of the Soviet Politburo, a set of verbatim accounts of meetings that took place from the 1920s to 1938. These records reveal the actual process of decision making at the highest levels of the Soviet communist party.
Brings together selections from the earliest written accounts of the Russian people to today. The book is filled with the voices of men and women, rulers and revolutionaries, peasants, soldiers, literary figures, émigrés, journalists, and scholars. Most of the selections are by Russians, and thirty are translated into English for the first time. Illustrated with maps, paintings, photographs, posters, and cartoons; also incorporates song lyrics, jokes, anecdotes, and folktales, as well as poems, essays, and fiction.