Skip to Main Content
History of Photography
A World History of Photography
Call Number: TR15 .R67 2007 (Reference) OR TR15 .R67 1997 (4th floor)
The standard text on the history of photography.
The Encyclopedia of Early Photography
Call Number: TR9 .C37 1981 (Reference)
An examination of the birth of photography.
Photographic Artists & Innovators
Call Number: TR139 .B767 1982 (Reference)
Biographies of historical figures who contributed to the advancement of the art.
Guides to Individual Photographers
An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers 2 Vol.
Call Number: TR 139 .W55 (Reference)
1940-1988 is covered in the 1988 Vol.
1840-1940 is covered in the 1985 Vol.
Pioneer Photographers from the Mississippi to the Continental Divide
Call Number: TR139 .P345 2006 (Reference)
A History of Women Photographers
Call Number: TR139 .R67 2010 (Reference)
Why are there no great women photographers? There are! And they’re revealed in this volume.
Call Number: TR139 .A46 1989 (Reference)
Well Illustrated Guide to American Photographers
Call Number: TR139 .C663 1988 & TR139 .C66 1982 (Reference)
Two volumes the second is an update of the first. Comprehensive and well illustrated.
Pioneer Photographers of the Far West
Call Number: TR139 .P35 2000 (Reference)
Guide to a group of Landscape photographers from the beginnings of photography.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
You can browse the collections & search for specific titles and authors. There are full-text books available online.
Search the Library Catalog
Subject Headings / Browse Collection
A partial list of subject headings useful in searching for resources in the NGL catalog or other databases:
Visual Resources Directory
Entries provide detailed information about more than 500 visual collections in the areas of art, architecture, and design throughout the United States and Canada.
Photographic Collections in Texas
Call Number: TR12 .P43 1987 (Reference)
The Gernsheim collection at the University of Texas is one of the foremost in the country. It includes the very first photograph.
Index to American Photographic Collections
Call Number: TR12 .M4 1990 (Reference)
The next time you take a vacation consult this book and visit photo collections around the country.
Indexes to Literature
Photography Books Index
Call Number: TR199 .M67 1980, Vol. 1-3 (Reference)
An index of books covering every aspect of Photography.
History of Photography
Call Number: TR15 .R66 1989, Vol. 1 & 2 (Reference)
An index centered on the history of photography.
Call Number: TR144 .B66 1960 (Reference)
An index of scientific and technical literature.
Call Number: TR144 .B66 SUPPL. (Reference)
A guide to a decade of mostly technical writing about photography.