Research Guides: Chemistry Research Guide: Chemistry Databases

NGL Chemistry Databases

These links provide access to library-subscribed databases in the discipline of Chemistry.

"IBM Researchers Create New Chemical Process for High-Performance Plastics" by IBM Research/Flickr.com CC BY-ND 2.0

SciFinder Scholar was developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service and provides access to:

CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and bio-sequences
CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
References to over 9,500 published journals and patent information from over 50 active patent issuing authorities

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text to over 30 journals published by the ACS.

Annual Reviews Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.