Political Science Research Guide

Texas Legislature Online -- provides legislative history for past sessions. Includes up-to-date listing of current filings by the State Legislature.

Handbook of Texas -- includes entries on cities, counties, events, and people.  Provided by the Texas State Historical Association.

The following Websites will be useful as you search for information on Political Science.

Congress.gov

This is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. This modern, integrated system provides accurate, timely, and complete legislative information to Congress and the public.

Constitution Annotated

Provides a list of each article of the United States Constitution with information for analysis and interpretation.

Government Documents@SHSU

The Government Documents Department of the Newton Gresham Library provides users with free unrestricted access to documents and other materials published by both the United States federal government and the Texas State government.

Additional sources:

The Democratic Party
Provides information about the Democratic Party.

Federal Election Commission
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.

The Republican National Committee (RNC)
Provides information about the Republican Party

United Nations
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.  You will find a site index at the bottom of the U.N. homepage. 

The following Websites relate to the United States Budget.

Congressional Budget Office

CBO's mandate is to provide the Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget and the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process.

Government Accountability Office

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people. The GAO site provides government financial information.

Office of Management and Budget

OMB's predominant mission is to assist the President in overseeing the preparation of the federal budget and to supervise its administration in Executive Branch agencies. In helping to formulate the President's spending plans, OMB evaluates the effectiveness of agency programs, policies, and procedures, assesses competing funding demands among agencies, and sets funding priorities. OMB ensures that agency reports, rules, testimony, and proposed legislation are consistent with the President's Budget and with Administration policies.