Human Sciences - College of Health Sciences - Open & Free Materials by Course - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

FACS 1331 Intro To Hospitality Industry

Hospitality Tourism & Recreation course
designed to introduce the student to the various aspects of Hospitality industry. It is currently estimated that 30% of all the jobs in the state of California are available in the hospitality and food service workplaces therefore emphasis is placed on meeting the needs for the growing number of resources and services in the local area. This class is designed to give the student basic skills needed to acquire an entry level job in lodging, recreation, travel event planning and theme park/ exhibition occupations.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA

FACS 1367 Basic Nutrition / FACS 2362 Nutrition

Human Nutrition - 2020 Edition by Marie Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla, Alan Titchenal, Jennifer Draper (University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa)
Covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
- Open License: CC-BY
- Read instructor reviews.
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application by Alice Callahan, Heather Leonard, Tamberly Powell (Lane Community College)
The book covers basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, energy balance, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC
- Read instructor reviews.
Human Nutrition by Marie Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla (Adapted by, Edited and Translated by, Editor); Alan Titchenal (Editor, Edited and Translated by, Adapted by)
ISBN: 9781948027014
This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
- Open License: CC-BY
- Read instructor reviews.
An Introduction to Nutrition by Maureen Zimmerman; Beth Snow
This book is written for students who are not majoring in nutrition, but want to learn about the fundamental aspects of nutrition and how it applies to their own lives. We have written this book with the assumption that you have little or no prior knowledge of college level chemistry, biology, or physiology. But that does not mean it’s not scientific! Nutrition is a science-based discipline, so all the material included is backed up by rigorous scientific research, but it is presented in a clear, easy-to-understand fashion without requiring a background in science.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
- Read instructor reviews.

FACS 1369 Introduction To Textiles

New Textiles course (from MIT)
This project-based course will explore the future of textiles, focusing particularly on blending rich crafting traditions with new technologies. Topics will include textile-based electronics, textile fabrication, algorithmic pattern design, and composites. We will experiment with a wide range of fibers, yarns, and fabrics including traditional materials like wool and cotton as well as metal fibers and yarns, fusible plastics, papers, and resins. We will also explore techniques like felting, laser cutting, CNC knitting, digital printing, and CNC embroidery. Students will complete weekly hands-on assignments and a final project.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA

General Resources: Fashion & Retail

Retail Merchandising course
This course combines classroom and community classroom instruction to prepare students for employment in the retail industry. Training will include elements of the sale, types of retailing, types of merchandise, customer relations, merchandising, pricing, inventory control, visual merchandising, operations, promotional elements, and human resources. Emphasis is placed on real world application of learning through work experience in the community. Employability skills emphasized include: preparing for employment, business attitudes, work habits and attendance.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
Garment Production course
Garment production is an area of skill under high demand. Saint Lucia is known for its artistry in costume making for carnival and creative garment designs for the event ‘Hot Couture’. Garment production is a viable field because clothing is a commodity that is needed by everyone year round. However, there is need for fashion designers to be more innovative in their designs. A course in garment production has the potential to foster designers’ creativity by augmenting designs that already exist or crafting new ones. Upcoming designers will be given the opportunity to be trained and certified which are added boosts to their competencies and chances for employment and entrepreneurship.
- Open License: CC-BY

FACS 3367 Food Science

Chemistry of Cooking by Sorangel Rodriguez-Velazquez
This book is intended to give students a basic understanding of the chemistry involved in cooking such as caramelization, Maillard reaction, acid-base reactions, catalysis, and fermentation. Students will be able to use chemistry language to describe the process of cooking, apply chemistry knowledge to solve questions related to food, and ultimately create their own recipes.
- Open License: CC-BY
- Read instructor reviews.

General Resources: Food Planning, Preparation, & Service

Introduction to Food Production and Service by Beth Egan
- Open License: CC-BY
Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management by The BC Cook Articulation Committee
One of the most important aspects of being successful in the food service industry is being able to manage costs. Without managing costs, none of the businesses you might work for over the course of your career would remain open. In this book, we explore the fundamentals of kitchen management from the basic math and calculations you will need to use every day to an overview of the costs associated with operating a kitchen or any food service operation.
- Open License: CC-BY
Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene by The BC Cook Articulation Committee
This material is intended as a review of food safety regulations and principles and not a replacement for required food safety training or certification.
- Open License: CC-BY

Culinary Arts course (from CTE California)
This concentration course prepares students to understand the scientific principles of nutrition, the relationship of nutrition to health and well-being, and also prepares students with food production, preparation, and service skills. Instruction includes topics such as finding nutritive food values; planning, selecting, storing, purchasing, preparing, testing, serving and selling of quality food and food products; nutrition and health; safety and emergencies; food safety and sanitation; meal management; food preparation; food purchasing; food in culture; the science of food and nutrition; food costs and production; and food technology. This course provides a solid background for a wide range of careers such as food service and hospitality, food science, dietetics, and nutrition.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
Johns Hopkins Open Courseware: Nutrition Courses
Culinary OER materials from OER Commons
List of search results in OER Commons for all culinary-related materials. Verify licenses on individual items.

General Resources: Interiors & Furnishings

Gottscho-Schleisner Collection
comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. These photos document important achievements in American 20th-century architecture and interior design.
- Free to use, but copyright may apply.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities.
- Verify copyright status of individual items

Tutorials of Visual Graphic Communication Programs for Interior Design 2 by Yongyeon Cho
This book is for advanced-level architecture and interior design students who have in-depth knowledge and skills with computer-aided visualization software. The author developed a total of twenty-two chapters to teach practical graphic presentation techniques for architectural presentations. Readers will learn these techniques by following step-by-step tutorials. This book includes multiple exercises for the reader's practice. After completing the tutorials, readers will be able to apply these techniques to their design projects.
- Open License: CC-BY-NC