Skip to main content

HIST 3340: Mexican Americans Since 1848

Get started researching topics in Mexican American history since 1848.

Purpose

The SHSU Special Collections and University Archives maintains, preserves, and provides access to archival material documenting the history of SHSU and the surrounding area. We welcome all researchers to come and use our materials to conduct research.

Both the SHSU Special Collections, housed in the Thomason Room, and the University Archives are non-circulating collections.  All materials are library use only, but are available to both the university community and the general public in a supervised environment, with instruction for handling fragile materials when appropriate. 

To contact SHSU Special Collections, please call 936-294-1619Call.
To contact the University Archives, please call 936-294-3699Call.

We look forward to working with you!

Search SHSU Special Collections Finding Aids

Special Collections LogoSearch Finding Aids in Archon

 

Search SHSU Digital Collections

Digital Collections Logo
 

 

Manuscript Collections

The following links will open finding aids for these collections. A finding aid helps you to understand what is in a collection so that you know what to request when you visit the archive. These are not digital collections available to view online.

Maps

The SHSU Special Collections in the Thomason Room contain a number of historical maps, such as this 1851 map of Mexico, Texas, and California (view the digital file to see more detail).

Browse for more maps in the collection's finding aid.

1851 map of Mexico in SHSU Special Collections

Map drawn and engraved by J. Rapkin. Illustrations by H. Warren & engraved by J. Rogers. Published by J. & F. Tallis, London, Edinburgh & Dublin. Image courtesy of SHSU Digital Collections, http://digital.library.shsu.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/p243coll3/id/2327/rec/31

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System