Research Guides: HIST 3389 / 5098: African History: Find News

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Library News Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013 This link opens in a new window Provides access to unfiltered press dispatches from around the world, methodically translated into English by the US Government, for the entire history of the World News Connection (Nov 1995 Dec 31, 2013)
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994 This link opens in a new window Every page and every photograph of the official journal of the National Geographic Society, from the first issue to the mid-1990s.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
New content is added each year. Consult the resource itself for the most recent content available.
Every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015, including full-color images, multiple search indexes, and browsing facilities. Timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news, including political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.

World News Sources Reporting on Africa

allAfrica
Compiles content from 125+ African news organizations.
Africa Focus
Provides analysis and advocacy on African issues, especially those that significantly affect the entire continent.
Al Jazeera
Amnesty International USA
BBC World Service News
CNN International Edition
Democracy Now
Includes individual links to coverage of the uprisings in Egypt, Libya, and Tunisia.
Egypt Today: The Magazine of Egypt
New York Times world coverage
Links to coverage of individual countries.

HIST 3389 / 5098: African History

Librarian

Library News Databases

World News Sources Reporting on Africa

African News Blogs

News Sources from Africa in English