Research Guides: HIST 3389 / 5098: African History: Find Info on Countries & Cultures

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Africa: Encyclopedias, Atlases, and Other Sources

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Call Number: DT3 .P27 2005, volumes 1-5 (2nd floor Reference)
Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: DT3 .E53 2010 volumes 1-2 (2nd floor Reference)
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online - Print also available: GN645 .E53 2009 volumes 1-2 (2nd floor Reference)
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations
Call Number: DT14 .E43 2002 (2nd floor Reference)
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online
Africa at a Glance: Facts and Figures (2012)
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online
Africa A-Z: Continental and Country Profiles
Call Number: DT30 .A344 2008 (2nd floor Reference)
Africa: Atlas of Our Changing Environment
Call Number: G2446 .G3 A37 2008 (2nd floor Reference)
Africa : a social, economic and political geography of its major regions
Call Number: DT5.F5 1933 (4th floor)
Contains maps of Africa from the first half of the 20th century.
The Bright Continent: Breaking rules and making change in modern Africa
Call Number: DT352.8 .O46 2014 - 4th floor
Publication Date: 2014
The path to progress in Africa lies in the surprising and innovative solutions Africans are finding for themselves.
Stereotyping Africa: Surprising Answers to Surprising Questions
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online - Print also available: DT4 .D64 2009 (2nd floor Reference)

Find Books by Country

SERIES: Culture and Customs of Africa
A series of more than 20 books focused on the culture of individual countries within the African continent. Follow the link to browse all the countries available.
SERIES: Historical Dictionaries of Africa
A series of 20+ books focused on the history of individual countries within the African continent. Follow the link to view all the countries available.

TIP: To find more books on a specific country, use the search box below: Type in the country's name and then choose subject from the drop-down menu.

Online Sources for Country Information

A to Z World Culture This link opens in a new window Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.

BBC Country Profiles
Guides to the history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, along with background on key institutions. These profiles also include audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
Information from the US Central Intelligence Agency on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries. Access more than 750,000 original poll questions and results from 18,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 100+ other countries from 1986 to the present.
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994 This link opens in a new window Every page and every photograph of the official journal of the National Geographic Society, from the first issue to the mid-1990s.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
New content is added each year. Consult the resource itself for the most recent content available.
Every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015, including full-color images, multiple search indexes, and browsing facilities. Timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news, including political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.