Research Guides: CRIJ 4363: Cybercrime: Selecting Topics/Finding Policy Resources

Librarian

Dianna Kim

Contact:

936-294-3687
dlk011@shsu.edu

Resources to Help Identify a Topic

Websites
Databases

Exploring these websites could assist you in pinpointing research topics.

Cyber Crime -- FBI

The FBI is the lead federal agency for investigating cyber attacks and intrusions. They collect and share intelligence and engage with victims while working to unmask those committing malicious cyber activities.

Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section (CCIPS)

Within the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, CCIPS works to deter and disrupt computer and intellectual property crime by bringing and supporting key investigations and prosecutions, guides the proper collection of electronic evidence by investigators and prosecutors, and provides technical and legal advice and assistance to agents and prosecutors in the U.S. and around the world.

Department of Homeland Security: Cybersecurity

The Department of Homeland Security and its components play a lead role in strengthening cybersecurity resilience across the nation and sectors, investigating malicious cyber activity, and advancing cybersecurity alongside our democratic values and principles.

Center for Problem-Oriented Policing

The Center for Problem-Oriented Policing is a non-profit organization comprising affiliated police practitioners, researchers, and universities dedicated to the advancement of problem-oriented policing. Their mission is to advance the concept and practice of problem-oriented policing in open and democratic societies. It does so by making readily accessible information about ways in which police can more effectively address specific crime and disorder problems.

Office of Justice Programs

The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) provides innovative leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America and providing grants for the implementation of these crime fighting strategies.

National Institute of Justice: Crime Solutions

CrimeSolutions is intended to be a central, reliable resource to help practitioners and policymakers understand what works in justice-related programs and practices. Its purpose is to assist in practical decision making and program implementation by gathering information on specific justice-related programs and practices and reviewing the existing evaluation and meta-analysis research against standard criteria.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.

Policy Resources

Congressional Research Service
This collection provides access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress.

CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress.

CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA, and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

CRIJ 4363: Cybercrime: Selecting Topics/Finding Policy Resources

Librarian

Resources to Help Identify a Topic

Policy Resources

Other Resources For Selecting a Topic