At of the end of Fiscal Year 2023 (8/31/2023), the EBSCO databases NGL receives as a part of the TexShare cooperative program will no longer be provided. The Texas State Library & Archives Commission has approved a selection of databases from other aggregators in their place. Access to the new databases is now available through the NGL catalog and library guides are being updated as appropriate. Video tutorials will be updated in the coming months in preparation for the Fall 2023 semester. Below is an abbreviated listing of changes focused on those frequently used by COE stakeholders.
| Database / Interface Name | Description | Additional Information |
|---|---|---|
| ERIC | ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, is an online resource to education-focused literature and research. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. When provided by ERIC, there are links to the ERIC full text or links to other sources such as publisher websites or DOIs. |
EBSCO interface expiring 8/31/2023 Replaced with U.S. Dept. of Education Interface FAQs https://eric.ed.gov/?faq |
| Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete |
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. |
Replacing:
|
| Educational Administration Abstracts |
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1966. Title List https://www.ebsco.com/title-lists?title=educational+administration+abstracts |
Expires 8/31/2023 Replaced with Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete |
| Professional Development Collection |
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965. Title List https://www.ebsco.com/title-lists?title=professional+development+collection |
Expires 8/31/2023 Replaced with Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete |
| Teacher Reference Center | Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education. |
Replaced with Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete |
| Database / Interface Name | Description | Additional Information |
|---|---|---|
| Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection |
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Title List https://www.ebsco.com/title-lists?title=Psychology+%26+Behavioral+Sciences+Collection |
Expires 8/31/2023 Replaced with:
|
| Gale OneFile: Psychology |
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection. |
Replacing Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection |
| Behavioral & Mental Health Online |
Provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works. Content included in the package has been the recipient of the Best Niche Product award from Library Journal and was deemed “highly recommended” by Choice Magazine. |
Replacing Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection |
| ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection |
The Health Research Premium Collection provides access to the latest medical information essential for medical students and researchers. The collection offers a central access point to a variety of essential medical resources. Title List https://www-proquest-com.ezproxy.shsu.edu/healthresearch/publicationbrowse?accountid=7065 |
Replacing Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection |
| Database / Interface Name | Description | Additional Information |
|---|---|---|
| Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) is the oldest continuously produced information science database. It provides indexing and abstracts for articles, books, research reports and conference proceedings, plus ongoing coverage of the most important periodicals in the field. Title List https://www.ebsco.com/title-lists?title=Information+Science+%26+Technology+Abstracts |
Expires 8/31/2023 Replaced with:
|
| Gale OneFile: Information Science |
Library science students, information science and technology professionals, and others will value the Gale OneFile: Information Science. It is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more. |
Included with Academic OneFile Replacing Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
| Gale OneFile: Computer Science |
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. |
Included with Academic OneFile Replacing Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
| ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection |
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Title List https://www-proquest-com.ezproxy.shsu.edu/scitechpremium/publicationbrowse?accountid=7065 |
Replacing Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
| Database / Interface Name | Description | Additional Information |
|---|---|---|
| Fuente Academica Premier |
Fuente Académica Premier is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. It is an indispensable tool of exceptional scope designed to make academic research readily accessible in PDF format. Title List available in database. |
Expiring 8/31/2023 Replaced with Gale OneFile: Informe Academico |
| Gale OneFile: Informe Academico |
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. |
Replacing Fuente Academica Premier |
| Database / Interface Name | Description | Additional Information |
|---|---|---|
|
Primary Search is a full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school libraries. It includes full text for the most popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. |
Expiring 8/31/2023 Replaced with:
|
|
|
With a simple, easy-to-navigate platform, Gale In Context: Elementary helps students gradually become comfortable with research. Elementary delivers age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content that covers a broad range of subjects, like animals, geography, health, influential people, literature, social studies, sports, and technology. Unlike other classroom databases in the market, Gale In Context: Elementary has rich visuals that are immediately welcoming to kids through grade 5. With a modern design and intuitive search functions, the Elementary database makes it easy for elementary-school children, teachers, and parents to find information related to lessons in articles, magazines, eBooks, periodicals, reference materials, and more. Plus, it gives users the option to plan fun activities around what they’re learning. Available resources include full-text proprietary content from top education publishers, like Encyclopaedia Britannica, Blackbirch Press, KidsPost from the Washington Post, Youngzine, and more. |
Replacing Primary Search |
|
|
Gale Presents: National Geographic Kids (also known as Nat Geo Kids) collection includes the complete run of the magazine from the first issue in 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos including Amazing Animals, images, and colorful photos. High-quality informational texts, fun features, and weird and wacky facts are available for primary, upper elementary, and middle school English Language Arts, social studies, and science classrooms. |
Replacing Primary Search |
|
|
Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines, reference e-books, and thousands of primary source documents and videos. Subjects include history, current events, science and sports. |
Expiring 8/31/2023 Replaced with:
|
|
|
Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate subject matter for middle school lesson plans, including videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics in middle school curriculum including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more. This middle school database provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school lesson plans, assignments, and coursework. |
Replacing Middle Search Plus |
|
|
Designed for high school libraries, MAS Complete is a research database that contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more. It also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press. |
Expiring 8/31/2023 Replaced with:
|
|
|
Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content that supports national and state high school curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more to enrich your high school lesson plans. Integrating reference content, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news, academic journals, and more, High School is updated daily, offering nearly 1,000 issue, topic, and geographic pages. Content comes together to provide background and guidance on topics across the high school curriculum like Government and the Economy, Human Population, Sound and Sound Waves, American Literature, and more. |
Replacing MAS Complete |
|
|
Gale OneFile: High School Edition is designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies. High School Edition's solid content features include full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources; careful editorial curation; a low-to-no embargo rate; and detailed manual indexing. |
Replacing MAS Complete |
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System