Research Guides: Master of Science in Athletic Training Resource Guide: Evidence-Based Resources

Librarian

Contact:

936-294-3527
lconnor@shsu.edu

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The gold-standard in Evidence-Based Practice documentation for Nursing, Health and all healthcare related disciplines. Providing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing.

ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate® is a point-of-care resource providing access to evidence-based recommendations covering 25 specialties.

Instruction for mobile (app) access to UpToDate:

1. Login to UpToDate web using your SHSU username and password
2. Click on “Register” on the top right corner to create a personal account
3. Visit iTunes or Google Play Store and download the UpToDate app
4. Open UpToDate app, login using your personal account info
5. Sign in to UpToDate web every 90 days to maintain access to the UpToDate app
For more information on maintaining mobile access, see UpToDate Access Maintenance page
Merck Manual This link opens in a new window One of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.

PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 22 years. It is a free database of over 56,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice: overview and question formulation
YouTube video from the National Library of Medicine providing an introduction to Evidenced Based Practice
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice: Literature Searching
YouTube video from the National Library of Medicine providing and introduction to searching PubMed
Disseminating Evidence into Practice
AHRQ disseminates the most up-to-date evidence and tools into practices so that they can implement evidence-based practices to improve the care of their patients. AHRQ synthesizes the evidence and disseminates it through programs such as its Evidence-Based Practice Centers, EvidenceNOW initiatives, Patient-Centered Outcomes Research projects, and other initiatives