Selected Databases for MSAT from SHSU - find articles
The Newton Gresham Library subscribes to several journal article databases. Names of databases along with a short description and a link to the database are listed below.
Remember, if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your computer account username and password.
SPORTDiscusThis link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index)This link opens in a new windowSports Medicine & Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment [HeinOnline]This link opens in a new windowThis database is designed to assist researchers in locating sources relevant to the many issues surrounding the critically important subject areas of sports and entertainment. The database provides legal periodical literature, case law, and U.S. federal and state materials.
• Nearly 1,500 titles.
• Articles and cases covering more than 55 topics.
• More than 8,000 scholarly articles and 30 relevant legislative histories.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe gold-standard in Evidence-Based Practice documentation for Nursing, Health and all healthcare related disciplines. Providing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical and nursing topics. Additionally this database features the AHFS Consumer Medication guide, which is a recognized standard for patient drug information in both English and Spanish.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowHuge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Merck ManualThis link opens in a new windowOne of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health SourceThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
Nutrition Care ManualThis link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited)
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.
Wiley Online LibraryThis link opens in a new windowSearch and browse millions of articles from thousands of journals, books, and other materials in the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Subjects range from Agriculture, Business, and Chemistry to Criminology, Nursing, and Psychology.
Access MedicineThis link opens in a new windowAccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
Sam Houston State University's subscription includes access to:
AccessMedicine, Case Files Collection, Case Files Teaching Collection, AccessEmergency Medicine, AccessSurgery, AccessAnesthesiology, AccessCardiology, AccessPharmacy, AccessNeurology, AccessHemOnc, AccessObGyn, AccessPediatrics, and JAMAevidence.
Clinical KeyThis link opens in a new windowClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats. With more than 1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish with over 13,000 videos and millions of images.
To access certain features, you will need to register for an account and the setup must be from on-campus , using your SHSU email address.
Clinical Pharmacology by ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest and most current clinically relevant drug information. Content includes: Drug Monographs, Patient Drug and Disease Education, and more.
To access certain features, you will need to register for an account and the initial account setup must be from on-campus, using your SHSU email address.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC)This link opens in a new windowLibrary of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence DatabasePEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 22 years. It is a free database of over 56,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
UpToDate® is a point-of-care resource providing access to evidence-based recommendations covering 25 specialties.
Instruction for mobile (app) access to UpToDate:
1. Login to UpToDate web using your SHSU username and password
2. Click on “Register” on the top right corner to create a personal account
3. Visit iTunes or Google Play Store and download the UpToDate app
4. Open UpToDate app, login using your personal account info
5. Sign in to UpToDate web every 90 days to maintain access to the UpToDate app
For more information on maintaining mobile access, see UpToDate Access Maintenance page
This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
Health and Society in VideoThis link opens in a new windowDefines and explores todays latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.