Border Crossings and Beyond: The Life and Works of Sandra Cisneros traces the ways in which Cisneros's personal history, art, and influence are intertwined.
This addition to Rodopi Press¿s Dialogue Series presents a collection of essays solely dedicated to Woman Hollering Creek (1991), Sandra Cisneros¿s groundbreaking collection of short fiction stories and sketches.
Sandra Cisneros is a Mexican-American novelist and poet whose works appeal to a broad spectrum of American readers.
Mexican Literature in Theory by
Mexican Literature in Theory is the first book in any language to engage post-independence Mexican literature from the perspective of current debates in literary and cultural theory. It brings together scholars whose work is defined both by their innovations in the study of Mexican literature and by the theoretical sophistication of their scholarship. Mexican Literature in Theory provides the reader with two contributions. First, it is one of the most complete accounts of Mexican literature available, covering both canonical texts as well as the most important works in contemporary production. Second, each one of the essays is in itself an important contribution to the elucidation of specific texts. Scholars and students in fields such as Latin American studies, comparative literature and literary theory will find in this book compelling readings of literature from a theoretical perspective, methodological suggestions as to how to use current theory in the study of literature, and important debates and revisions of major theoretical works through the lens of Mexican literary works.
Trans-Americanity by
Saldívar is one of the founders of border studies and one of the most respected senior scholars in American Studies. In this work he introduces the term trans-Americanity as a frame for thinking more hemispherically within a global, world-systems frame.
The Borderlands of Culture by
Poet, novelist, journalist, and ethnographer, Américo Paredes (1915-1999) was a pioneering figure in Mexican American border studies and a founder of Chicano studies. Paredes taught literature and anthropology at the University of Texas, Austin for decades, and his ethnographic and literary critical work laid the groundwork for subsequent scholarship on the folktales, legends, and riddles of Mexican Americans. In this beautifully written literary history, the distinguished scholar Ramón Saldívar establishes Paredes's preeminent place in writing the contested cultural history of the south Texas borderlands. At the same time, Saldívar reveals Paredes as a precursor to the "new" American cultural studies by showing how he perceptively negotiated the contradictions between the national and transnational forces at work in the Americas in the nascent era of globalization. Saldívar demonstrates how Paredes's poetry, prose, and journalism prefigured his later work as a folklorist and ethnographer. In song, story, and poetry, Paredes first developed the themes and issues that would be central to his celebrated later work on the "border studies" or "anthropology of the borderlands." Saldívar describes how Paredes's experiences as an American soldier, journalist, and humanitarian aid worker in Asia shaped his understanding of the relations between Anglos and Mexicans in the borderlands of south Texas and of national and ethnic identities more broadly. Saldívar was a friend of Paredes, and part of The Borderlands of Culture is told in Paredes's own words. By explaining how Paredes's work engaged with issues central to contemporary scholarship, Saldívar extends Paredes's intellectual project and shows how it contributes to the remapping of the field of American studies from a transnational perspective.
Border Modernism by
First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
With a Book in Their Hands by
First Place Winner of the 2015 International Latino Book Award for Best Latino Focused Nonfiction Book Literary history is a history of reading. What happens during the act of reading is the subject of the branch of literary scholarship known as reader-response theory. Does the text guide the reader? Does the reader operate independently of the text? Questions like these shape the approach of the essays in this book, edited by a scholar known for his groundbreaking work in using reader-response theory as a window into Chicana and Chicano literature. Manuel M. Martín-Rodríguez has overseen several research projects aimed at documenting Chicana and Chicano reading practices and experiences. Here he gathers diverse and passionate accounts of reading drawn from that research. For many, books served as refuges from the sorrows of a childhood marked by violence or parental abandonment. Several of the contributors here salute the roles of teachers in introducing poetry and stories into their lives.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by
From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities. Emerging from the fusion of Spanish, North American, and African cultures, it has always been part of the American mosaic. Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors. While most of the entries are on writers, such as Julia Alvarez, Sandra Cisneros, Lorna Dee Cervantes, Oscar Hijuelos, and Piri Thomas, others cover genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines. Special attention is given to the cultural, political, social, and historical contexts in which Latino literature has developed. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. The encyclopedia gives special attention to the social, cultural, historical, and political contexts of Latino literature, thus making it an ideal tool to help students use literature to learn about history and cultural diversity.
Issues in U. S. Immigration by
It's been eight years since the last edition of Issues in U.S. Immigration (formerly titled Immigration in U.S. History). In that short period of time, major events have escalated the immigration debate in both politics and popular opinion. From the Secure Fence Act in 2006, to the controversial Arizona Bill SB-1070 in 2010, to President Obama's 2013 Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals and the current talks on Immigration Reform in Washington DC, this new edition includes many new entries to offer up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of this important issue in current events and throughout history.
Chicanas y mexicanas norteñas: bi-borderlans dialogues on literary and cultural production by
Pr{circ}aologo : reencuentro bifronterizo en El Paso del Norte : historizacion de la literatura chicana y la mexicana nordfronteriza / Graciela Silva Rodr{circ}aiguez -- Teor{circ}aia literaria. I. De la cr{circ}aitica borderlands a la cr{circ}aitica biborderlands : un nuevo discurso cr{circ}aitico descentrado y antihegem{circ}aonico para los estudios literarios y culturales de la frontera M{circ}aexico-Estados Unidos / Manuel de Jes{circ}aus Hern{circ}aandez-G. ; II. Rosaura S{circ}aanchez, cr{circ}aitica marxista y m{circ}aaxima expresi{circ}aon del La Jolla Circle : sus contribuciones a la cr{circ}aitica chicana, la socioling{uml}u{circ}aistica y la recuperaci{circ}aon de la obra decimon{circ}aonica de Mar{circ}aia Amparo Ruiz de Burton / Vanessa Fonseca ; III. La literatura chicana hoy (Ateneo de Madrid, 31 de enero, 1976) / Miguel M{circ}aendez ; IV. On crossing borders and stealing flags : confessions of a language thief / Erlinda Gonzales-Berry ; V. Sobre el proceso escritural : literaturizar el femenino del noroeste mexicano / Rosina Conde ; VI. Politics of language, identity and Spanish heritage learners / Mar{circ}aia Dolores Gonzales ; VII. De ac{circ}aa de este lado : (des)encuentros y representaciones de la frontera / Jos{circ}ae Manuel Valenzuela Arce -- Cr{circ}aitica literaria. VIII. Literary tradition and narrative singularity in Jos{circ}ae Antonio Villarreal's novel Pocho (1959) / Roberto Cant{circ}au ; IX. Literatura m{circ}aexico-americana de urgencia y compromiso social de las primeras d{circ}aecadas del siglo XX : Jos{circ}ae de la Luz S{circ}aaenz / Jes{circ}aus Rosales ; X. Terramara un espacio en busca de su propia novela / Mario Mart{circ}ain ; XI. A trav{circ}aes de puertas y ventanas : ©…de qu{circ}ae hablan las poetas bajacalifornianas en 1994 y 2011? / Estela Alicia L{circ}aopez Lomas (Esali) ; XII. Contemporary Chicano and Chicana literature and the reaffirmation of Southwest Spanish as a literary language by Chicano, U.S. Latino, and mainstream Euroamerican presses / Manuel de Jes{circ}aus Hern{circ}aandez-G. ; XIII. Appendices A-F. A comprehensive annoted bibliography on Chican@ literature in Spanish : original works in Spanish, translations into English, and English works translated into Spanish / Manuel de Jes{circ}aus Hern{circ}aandez G.
Bridges, Borders, and Breaks by
This volume reassesses the field of Chicana/o literary studies in light of the rise of Latina/o studies, the recovery of a large body of early literature by Mexican Americans, and the "transnational turn" in American studies. The chapters reveal how "Chicano" defines a literary critical sensibility as well as a political one and show how this view can yield new insights about the status of Mexican Americans, the legacies of colonialism, and the ongoing prospects for social justice. Chicana/o literary representations emerge as significant examples of the local that interrogate globalization's attempts to erase difference. They also highlight how Chicana/o literary studies' interests in racial justice and the minority experience have produced important intersections with new disciplines while also retaining a distinctive character. The recalibration of Chicana/o literary studies in light of these shifts raises important methodological and disciplinary questions, which these chapters address as they introduce the new tools required for the study of Chicana/o literature at this critical juncture.
Border Crossings and Beyond by
Author of The House on Mango Street, which has sold more than two million copies in English alone, activist, MacArthur grant genius, figure of inspiration and controversy, Sandra Cisneros is unequivocally one of America's most important and much discussed contemporary literary figures. In a writing career that has spanned more than three decades, Cisneros has written acclaimed poetry and prose, including, My Wicked, Wicked Ways, Loose Woman, Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories, and Caramelo, or, Puro Cuenta. Border Crossings and Beyond: The Life and Works of Sandra Cisneros traces the ways in which Cisneros's personal history, art, and influence are intertwined. The result is a revealing and multi-faceted portrait of the artist as writer, woman, and Mexican American. From a childhood defined by repeated migrations between Texas and Mexico, to the Chicano and women's movements, and the impact of her father's death, author Carmen Haydée Rivera offers a comprehensive and thoughtful engagement of Cisneros's writings, as well as her tremendous personal struggles and significant gifts. It will become mandatory reading for those who wish to understand the significance and power of Cisneros's contribution to Latina/o literature and American letters.
Sandra Cisneros by
Sandra Cisneros is a Mexican-American novelist and poet whose works appeal to a broad spectrum of American readers. When her first book was published in 1984, she broke new ground; today, Cisneros is a popular and admired writer around the world. She is also a dedicated activist who works tirelessly for Mexican-American causes. Readers of Sandra Cisneros will learn how Cisneros went from being a poor, underprivileged kid in the barrio to the internationally renowned writer she is today, as well as get an in-depth look at some of her most well-known works.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
