Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowInternational array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993.
NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
SPORTDiscusThis link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index)This link opens in a new windowSports Medicine & Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials DirectoryThis link opens in a new windowUlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Dissertations at Sam Houston State UniversityThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
Information about and reviews of English- and Spanish-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Pruebas Publicadas en Espaol provides extensive information on hundreds of tests published in Spanish. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, providing vital information on each test and pointing to reviews in the MMY.
Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Features citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
General Mathematics Databases
MathSciNetThis link opens in a new windowIdentifies and provides reviews of journal papers and book chapters in math and related disciplines, some with links to full text.
Project Euclid / Euclid PrimeThis link opens in a new windowEuclid Prime is a collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid. (Perpetual Access from a previous subscription for content published 2010-2019; Articles older than 5 years are Open-Access.)
Perpetual Access from a previous subscription for content published 2010-2019; Articles older than 5 years are Open-Access.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowIdentifies research articles and cited references in science, engineering and medicine, with many links to full text.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowJournals from Elsevier Science. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowOlder full text articles in many disciplines. Select the Mathematics discipline (scroll down) after logging in to JSTOR.
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes full-text access to over 5 million documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.
Dissertations and Theses Full TextThis link opens in a new windowDissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowReference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book in the library.